Features & Games That Will Make Us Excited For PlayStation Classic

in #retrogaming6 years ago

htq2yvk93o.jpg

Sony just recently announced the PS1 Classic, a move similar to what Nintendo did with its NES & SNES Classics. Coming out in the next December. Here's the announcement video:

The decive will come with 20 pre-installed games. Some of them are already announced:

  • Final Fantasy VII
  • Jumping Flash
  • Ridge Racer 4
  • Tekken 3
  • Wild Arms

wavqvnoand.jpg

So many #RetroGaming players thinking whether to buy this device, have their wishes for the remaining 15 games. Those are what will make or break the success of the system. So it's better for sony to choose their games carefully (I know they did but...) to leave the least amount of its audience in sour mood after the final announcement.

We all know how many people are hurt by not having Chrono Trigger in the SNES classic, since it's semi-globally known as the best game for the system.

Remaining Games

So what I think must be some of the remaining games? I gave it a thought while looking at all the games released for the system. Those are my choices based on their variety and popularity in the list of best selling games:

  • Castlevania - Symphony of the Night
  • Crash Bandicoot
  • Final Fantasy Tactics
  • MegaMan X4 or X5
  • Metal Gear Soild
  • Rayman
  • Resident Evil (Any, but for timing, I think RE2 would be the best.)
  • Spider-man
  • Spyro: Year of the Dragon
  • Syphon Filter
  • Titres Plus
  • Tomb Raider
  • Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3
  • XenoGears
  • Any Soccer/Football game. (They're endlessly replayable.)

I think Crash, Metal gear Solid, Syphon Filter, Castlevania and any Resiedent Evil.
And those games that aren't popular but I'd like to see in the system:

  • Breath of Fire III/IV
  • Chrono Trigger/Chrono Cross (Any of those might be the seller for me.)
  • Driver 2 (Amazing for its time)
  • Dino Crisis (Plays the same as Resident Evil but better for me. I don't think we'll have both.)
  • Final Fantasy Origins or Chronicles (to compare with VII)
  • Monster Rancher 2 (I'd like to see what happens when you change virtual disk.)
  • Parasite Eve (Popular but I don't think it'll have a chance, I haven't played it yet so I put it here.)
  • Silent Hill (Amazing game but I'm not sure about being in PSClassic)
  • Any Disney game: The Lion King, The Little Mermaid and 102 dalmatians all were great in my childhood. But not much replayability value.


Features

4lrjzkv69e.png

Now some features that will add to the system, since we already know that it will have HDMI output:

1) Instant Loading Time:

Today technology can certainly make that possible even for cheap. If you don't have this feature you're losing to emulators on the weaker side of Android systems. Loading times were one of the most frustrating things the PlayStation 1 generation had to deal with!

The option to control the loading time, would be a great option to have for those who want to feel the most of what PS1 felt like.

2) Save States:

I think "save anywhere feature" may ruin the experience. But we live at an age where if you don't have save states you have to compete with every game that has that feature.

For me even "suspend anywhere." feature will do the job (save deleted after resuming) but for others... I'm not really sure.

3) Changeable Display Options:

I hope they keep the aspect ratio at 4:3, but I'd like that the 3D games can change/upscale their resolution (and 3D rendering) from the native PS1 resolution.

SNES Classic had the option to CRT filter, or have Sharp Image/Pixel Perfect. and I hope #PlayStation Classic comes with similar ones. If sony want us to cheer, have even more than that!

xaf9un4p6m.png
The filters of SNES Classic

This alone will make the game feel fresh (Compare the look of FFVII PS1 & PC versions.) It's not hard to do but also not easy to do for 20 different games.

4) Other things:

I'd like a Dual Shock Controller, they may sell it seperately. Because I loved it more than the classic one.

One feature I think will be amazing but probably we won't have are "Fast-forward" & "Slow-down" Buttons. With games as Grindy as FFVII in the list this can help make the game less frustrating for the new generation.

i677k8ifnm.jpg
"Yeah, 10 Seconds is a long time."

Of course, most of those will probably wait for FFVII:Remake on PS4, but let me be optimistic.

What do you think?

These things will make me excited for this new gaming system, but I don't think I'll get a PS1 Classics as I have more pressing priorites. But The Playstation Classic Really have potential. This is coming from someone who grew up with the original Playstation every summer.


The first video is from the Official site. Most of images are taken from the same website. SNES image is taken from here. The last image is FFVII meme, I don't know the source.

Sort:  

Something about all this makes me feel like they are doing this for two obviously brilliant marketing reasons:

  1. Nintendo disappointed gamers so royally bad by pulling their product, and limiting players to "these are good for you" games. NES Classic. SNES classic. Wait, are they making another NES classic? I don't know anymore. It left such a bad taste in our mouths, we're ready to buy anything cheaper that will continue to get better games and support to satisfy our nostalgia needs. Nintendo already did most of the advertising work to explain how these old rom systems work, so Playstation can eliminate most of those costs in their advertising, and focus on picking the games fans really want to win over a larger share of support from disgruntled Nintendo customers. The technology to make a dinky little system is so high right now, we're only limited by executives making dumb decisions about which breadcrumbs they'll let us eat while we starve for more.

  2. FF7 is going to be a big push. Everybody knows they are working on the remake, which sounds like it will take forever to finish. By giving away the original game on a cheap system that everyone can get their hands on, they can make some easy money, and get players hyped up about the remake coming up. It will introduce a new generation to the game as people share it with their friends and family. By seeing some of the small bells and whistles that were cleaned up, such as no-loading, and easier to save (and speed up/down would be awesome), people in love with the gameplay and story will be even more excited once they get better graphics and animations once the remake released. This is a slam dunk way to get everyone addicted again, and to be the sole provider of the must-have game. This will increase sales for PS4, which is really the ultimate goal for marketing and making profits.

Thanks for this post. This is the first I heard about this, and I'm really excited. Sounds like a great stocking stuffer to hit the shelves this winter.

I noticed how brilliant this timing is too, and if they put Resident Evil 2 in there many people will be excited about the HD remake because RE2 on the playstation 1 is still a great game!

...focus on picking the games fans really want to win over a larger share of support from disgruntled Nintendo customers.

I think that's the point of only announcing 5 of the 20 games. People like me and you will speculate about the games they want, people will make videos, people will talk to all their friends

"if it has this game, I'll buy it."

Free advertising!!

The only way this can screw up is that they announced the only 5 games that are good, and all the other games in the system could be bad ones. At least for their intended audience whatever it is.

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

What's this website... is it open source?

Well, guess we are going to get our past games back. Now, how will this change things like speedrunning, piracy and rare copies - I haven’t a clue yet I figure drastically things will change. If the internet at one point was for piracy pre-GG and now anti-piracy post-GG, then now asks the questions whether increasing legal acquirings of game shall make the internet despise it more than an anti-piracy ad could’ve ever done. For speedrunning and rare copies, speedrunning definitely can now expand and get more of the community involved since they can easily replace their PS units without worry. More-so, the little enclave of rare copies for PS games should collapse whence the remaining 20 are announced and they cannot price gouge anymore. But I’ve seen weirder happen.
CE1ED3E0-D0B5-4CC3-B45B-680F9194D0D5.gif

I saw many weird things today alone (Telltale is basically dead.) But yeah I think that piracy will get less and less in the future... But we're talking about two different markets here.

People who can buy but choose to pirate will never buy any game. People who can't buy but pirate will buy the games when they have money.

People whose livelihood depends on reselling old games hard copies better stay alert, because at this time you never know what will happen.

I imagine that PS Classic will be a good system, but most of corporation are money hungry creatures that will try to minimize the cost (give us bad games, features) and maximize the profit (sell those more than their virtual alternatives are available online.)

Still happy that we have Tekken 3, one of the games I'll be happy to play again, and again and....

and they won’t stop coming and they won’t stop coming and won’t stop coming.

i definitively need this in my life, and i will gonna have it! great post, my friend!

Depends on which games and features it'll contain I may prefer this to raspberry Pi Emulator! (and I basically don't play emulators anymore.)

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

I will definitely buy it for Tony Hawk Pro Skater, and a dual-shock controller would be fantastic!

Here's hoping Sony doesn't shit the bed on this one [ please have a larger stock than the nes classic ]

It already said there will only be 20 games... But since FFVII is three discs, and depending on the remaining games I might still be happy about it.

And yeah, Dual Shock please!!

These are games I'd love to play again on the PS1: Silent Hill 1, Bloody Roar 2, Mega Man X4, Metal Gear Solid, Diablo 1

I forgot about Bloody Roar 2, still I prefer Tekken 3 over it... More iconic.

But Metal Gear Solid is a must.. if they don't have that I don't know how the most would feel.

I really regret having sold my old playstation back in the day.
I can`t really discuss games, though, since I almost only owned tie-in games to disney movies (which where quit fun back in the day but probably won´t come up in these discussions^^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73