Digital Archaeology: Codex (Floppy Disk) #8 (part 7)

in #retrocomputing7 years ago (edited)

Continuing with this series of posting the contents of various 5.25" floppy disks I found at a thrift store a number of years ago... At least some of them were apparently once owned by someone named Connie A. Buys who used to run the “Close Encounters” Special Interest Group (SIG) on Delphi in the mid 1980s.

A specific definition of this SIG was found in a previous document: “This SIG, known as “Close Encounters”, is a forum for the discussion of relationships that develop via computer services like the Source, CompuServe, and Delphi. Our primary emphasis is on the sexual aspects of those relationships.”

Everything was text based from whatever terminal program you used to dial in to Delphi’s servers. Many of these disks have forum messages, e-mails and chat session logs. All of this is pre-internet stuff and I don’t know if there are any archives in existence today of what was on Delphi in the 1980s. In any case, much of this stuff would have been private at the time and some of it is quite personal.

I've been splitting up the contents of this disk (descriptively labeled “File Disk”) since it contains a number of documents, some of which are pretty long. A 5.25" floppy disk can still hold an impressive amount of info when it is just text. (see the previous parts here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6).

The document included in this post is an ad that was reprinted on the forum for an impotence study.


IMPOTENT.DOC


This ad appeared in a local paper recently and I am reprinting it here
for your information, knowing that members of this sig will treat this
with the respect it deserves.

The ad was published in the Sports section of the paper. There is a
picture of a man with the word "impotent?" printed over the picture in
1/2" size letters. Then in much smaller print the ad reads as
follows:

"The Definition: Impotence is the common term used to describe male
erectile dysfunction.

The Myth: A widely help misconception is that most cases of impotence
are psychological in origin. Actually, over 50% of all impotence is
caused by physical problems.

It's Common: Impotence is a far more common problem that most people
realize. An estimated ten million American men suffer from various
forms of male sexual dysfunction.

Read more: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2018/03/13/digital-archaeology-codex-floppy-disk-8-part-7/


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Introducing DCLICK: An Incentivized Ad platform by Proof of Click. - Steem based AdSense.

Hello, Steemians. Let us introduce you a new Steem B...

logo

This posting was written via
dclick the Ads platform based on Steem Blockchain.

Sort:  

Nice find. I actually still use these types of floppies. I resurrected a Com64 and I found this old assembly program called HES MON. I am still trying to understand how it works.

I still have my Commodore 64. I did some BASIC programming but I never did any assembly with it.

I've had these disks lying around for several years but while I have 5.25" disk drives for my Commodore, I never really had a PC 5.25" disk drive (my first PC was a 486 with a 3.5" floppy). However, I do have computers with floppy ports on their motherboards so I ordered a drive and cable off of eBay and got started. The floppy drive is currently housed in an Athlon XP 3200+.

I never had a 5.25" drive for anything but the Com64. By the time I bought a PC the 3.5" was standard. I guess if I was pressed, I could modify the din connector to a USB.

There are interfaces available that allow you to connect a Commodore 64 disk drive to a pc. I have one but it only works well with DOS. Commodore 64 drives can't read PC disks though.

Cool factor - 10/10

I used Dephi and Compuserve and remember these forums. It was shear magic.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you for (>‿♥)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59