Amiga Resource (February 1990)

in #retrocomputing6 years ago (edited)


http://megalextoria.blogspot.com/2018/05/amiga-resource-february-1990.html

Amiga Resource was a spinoff of Compute! that covered the Amiga exclusively. The February 1990 issue includes:

Features

  • Amiga Builds a World - Joseph Conti - using the Amiga to mold reality
  • Amiga 3-D - The history and future of 3-D graphics
  • Inside Your 500 - Find out what makes your Amiga tick
  • Globewatch - Investigating the international Amiga market

Departments

  • The Window - Hurricanes and earthquakes
  • Trends - News, new products, and rumors
  • Readers' Feedback - European games, opinions, and commercials
  • Spotlight on the Sculpt Series - Hot tips for 3-D artists
  • CLI Clips - Livening things up with escape codes
  • Ask Rob Peck - What is ARexx?
  • Programmer's Page - Finding a file's full pathname

Columns

  • Just for Fun - Life of the party
  • Abstractions - And now, a word from our sponsor

Reviews

  • Amiga Logo
  • Lords of the Rising Sun
  • Mini-Reviews - Amiga Resource looks at dinosaurs, fiendish clowns, hard disk backup utilities, perplexing word puzzles, a programming language, and more

On Disk

  • Boomerang, NameBase, Req, Amiga BBS List, Scripit, SysCheck, and more

Read more: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2018/05/16/amiga-resource-february-1990/


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
[DCLICK HTML Ad] - Earn Steem from your blog or website!

Hi Steemians. Today, I'd like to introduce you to th...

Sort:  

When I was younger, my uncle was ALL about the Amiga. He took me to these Amiga group meeting where people would talk about anything Amiga, sell and swap. It was really interesting. This was in the 90’s. I think he still has all his stuff. I remember playing the Lucasarts games in them. Good times.

I had a Commodore 64 and the Amiga was the computer I always wanted to upgrade to. However, by 1993 when I was going to college and ready to buy a new computer it was clear (to me anyway) that Commodore and Amiga were not going to survive in the long run. I got an uber powerful 486 DX2-66 with 16MB of RAM and a 340 MB hard drive instead. I finally got an Amiga years later though.

Yup. HAD a 64 as well. Why do you think Amiga failed? They had something special. Right?

The Amiga had a pretty good run with nearly a decade long commercial life. However, at the end of the day Commodore just couldn't keep up with changing technology. When the Amiga was first introduced, its technical capabilities were unmatched, especially in the graphics and sound department and it could all be had at a bargain price (relatively speaking). By the time I got my 486, even the latest Amigas were starting to look dated. The 486 with its discrete 3D graphics card and 16-bit sound card were definitely technically superior to a top end Amiga and could be had for less money.

I see. I remember my uncle telling me that they used some program on an Amiga to do the effects on the Star Trek shows at the time. I thought that was awesome as a young kid. Lol.

I'm not sure they were ever used for Star Trek but they were used for producing the special effects for Babylon 5 for most of its five year run.

Maybe that's what it was!?!? He's an idiot...or I'm the idiot... Lol...

Either way I am gonna see if he still has his Amiga shit. I know several years back he still had it hooked up in his basement....what a creep. Probably Connecting to CompuServe still...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84