Alone in the Dark

in #retrocomputing7 years ago (edited)


Source: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2017/05/09/alone-in-the-dark/

Alone in the Dark was released in 1993 for DOS based PCs and was the very first 3D Survival Horror game. It was ported to the 3D0 later in 1993, to the Macintosh in 1994 and, much later in 2014, to iOS. Alone in the Dark was a very influential game and was at least in part responsible for later games like Resident Evil and Silent Hill being developed.

Read more: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2017/05/09/alone-in-the-dark/

Sort:  

The old Alone in the dark... good times. The "Hi, Guy"-Guy in the maze always got me.

If you are interested in good ol games you can check out my review of JA2. It's my favourite game and its from 1998. Well maybe thats too modern of a game for you looking at the age of the games you discuss.

Anyways, sry for the shameless selfplug. I just rly like Jagged Alliance :3

I don't think I've every played the Jagged Alliance games. My interests cover a pretty broad range, from the early 80s to about ten years or so ago. The occasional new game interests me but not often. Still waiting for a new X-Wing game though... :)

https://steemit.com/gaming/@thatgermandude/jagged-alliance-2-one-of-the-best-games-of-all-times-and-why-it-is-still-important

I think the last time I played X-wing vs T-fighters I was too young to remember it :D. Jagged Alliance is so unique because its almost its own genre. I mean all the elements of the game you can find in others, but never so beautifully combined. Its an X-com with better combat, better strategy, better looting system, more rpg-elements, more sandbox, actual characters, better humor and much more realism. Im comparing to the new x-com tho, I never played the old one.

Huh, that's a great scene in the beginning:) Should play just in order to end like that, haha:)

Wow really reminded me of resident evil that gif, upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70