How to run old PC and DOS games todaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #retro7 years ago (edited)

Hi! In this mini-guide I'll describe how to run and play old DOS games on your computer in Windows. It is actually really easy!

You only need to download DosBox and the game you wish to play. Here is what to do to get started:

  1. Go to the DosBox download page and click on Download Now.

  2. Save the file somewhere and open it. It will run an installer. You can just keep clicking on "Next" and leave all the settings to their defaults. On the last screen you will click on "Install"

  3. Feel free to launch DosBox from the desktop icon.

  4. You will see that it will not do much yet. We will take care of that!

  5. Next you will need to select a DOS game to download online. I prefer RGB Classic Games myself. They've carefully over time selected the best to represent in their high quality gallery of shareware titles. Some of these titles are the full version of the game, distributed with express permission of the original author. In this example I'm going to be downloading SkyRoads, but you can apply the following to any DOS game. I chose SkyRoads because even to this day I still love it's addicting ethereal music and it's blazing fast 3D arcade-style gameplay, and even while writing this article, can't wait to try it again!

  6. In the description page, choose the file you'd like to download and save it to a location you'll easily find. I'll go with the full version of the game and I'll save it to my desktop.

  7. Open the file you just downloaded by going to the folder location you saved the file and right click on it. Be sure to select "Extract All".

  8. In the following window, you can specify a folder to extract the game into. I'll just leave it to defaults for now and click Extract. I'll also leave the checkbox on "Show extracted files when complete."

  9. You will be greeted with a new window with all the files of the game. You can arrange the files by "Type" to find the Application executables.

  10. Make sure your DOSBox icon is visible on the desktop. Then drag-and-drop the Application file to the DOSBox icon, and the game will start automatically!

  11. Now the only thing left to do is make the window full screen so you can enjoy your game in its full pixel-glory. Press ALT and ENTER simultaneously to make DOSBox full screen. To exit full screen, repeat by pressing ALT and ENTER again.

Have fun and STEEM ON!!!


Trivia: SkyRoads was developed by a small independent Estonian company called BlueMoon Software originally in 1992, only a year after Soviet Union collapsed and Estonia became an independent country. Even to this very day they have had their website online. Amazing. You can visit Bluemoon Software here.

Please be sure to upvote and follow my posts if you like what I'm doing. I'd love to hear comments for ideas, suggestions, or general feedback. I will be posting more mini guides and cool stuff relating to retro gaming in the near future, stay tuned!

Sort:  

Nice little guide man - even though I do know these things, I'm sure there are plenty of people here who don't.

Great post! Would you mind if I included it in today's "best of gaming"?

I'd love that! I'm trying to raise awereness on the channel, so any and all assistance is more than welcome. :) I'm starting a series of mini-guides concentrating on easier "nose-dive into" -style tasks, then proceeding onto more advanced guides. I'm currently working on several neat ideas coming soon. :) Thanks!

Oh wow so it was sky roads that I used to play when I was small.....I had no idea what it was called but always remembered the game.
Thank you mate ;)

Congratulations @zelet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31