Super Metroid - My Retro Memories

in #retro6 years ago (edited)

Intro.png

I was 13 years old when Super Metroid was released in the US. I had been saving my allowance for months so that I could buy it as soon as it hit the stores. The reviews and screenshots in Nintendo Power magazine were phenomenal, I just had to have it. It was an hour walk each way to the game store, but the way back seemed quicker because I was reading the game manual as I walked. When I finally got home and popped the cartridge into my Super Nintendo, I knew immediately that it was all worth it.

Fast forward 24 years and here I am again, firing up the Super Nintendo (emulator this time) to relive some of my fondest memories in video gaming. I hardly ever get a chance to game anymore, too busy working, studying and raising my kids. Yesterday I got the opportunity to sneak off into my office for some “me” time. I sat unsure in front of my laptop for a moment thinking about what to play, when out of nowhere memories of Super Metroid began filling my head. I don’t have a console anymore, didn’t even have an emulator yet, but within five minutes I was once again staring at the Super Metroid title screen.

The graphics and sound are just as I remember, excellent for its time. The background music is erie and futuristic, befitting the alien sci-fi setting. The textures are dark and muted, as a whole the game carries a tense foreboding, like that feeling you get when watching the movie Aliens. What makes this game stand out in my mind is the quality of gameplay. Every segment of landscape is perfectly crafted; the degree of control over your character, Samus, is extraordinary.

As a kid I remember playing this game from beginning to end in three hours, with an 82% completion rate, that is I found 82% of all the obtainable items throughout the game, without googling anything or watching youtube or whatever. I developed the muscle memory and timing to have absolute control of Samus’ movements, I memorized the attack patterns of every boss, I was badass.

Well, that was a long time ago, today I managed to get to the first real mini-boss fight before my young son found me. “Why do you keep dyeing all the time daddy?” he asked repeatedly. I tried to explain to him that daddy’s game is much harder than the little games he plays, and that in my game you can actually lose, I am not sure if he understood. I managed to beat that boss but had to stop playing, at this point my son was literally climbing on me, pointing at the screen.

I am now, once again, hooked on Super Metroid, I set my alarm for 5 AM tomorrow, that should give me a good two hours before anyone else wakes up. Wish me luck, if successful I may have a part 2 to this article, so stay tuned.

Samus Death.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Aristo80 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

My favorite weapon is the spazer beam!

I hope I can play some more this week, have not gotten that far yet. Just got charge beam and high jump but I am kinda stuck now.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

You just planted 0.03 tree(s)!


Thanks to @aristo80

We have planted already 3580.61 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19199.74
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 20.83% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

I hear ya man. I've started gaming with my son a bit but we have to limit his screen time or he's a terror, heh. So i get crawled on a lot, especially when I'm playing something gtuesome he shouldn't see like darkest dungeon

I definitely have to give super metroid a try. I got it on VC on my wii u but I haven't had the time to actually play it. Great article, dude!

I am really enjoying playing it again. I am curious, does the VC version have better resolution options then the original? Like widescreen?

I think it does o: i'm not entirely sure but I do think it does support widescreen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35