You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nostalgic Game Design Focus - Space Harrier

I am also a sucker for good old games. Monkey Island, Jagged Alliance 2, Settlers <3. My avatar without glasses is from JA2.

I think I played some 2D+1/2 shoot em alls like Space Harrier but that has been a looong time ago.

Sort:  

Thank you, @thatgermandude, both for your upvote as well as your comment.

While I'd heard of JA2, I hadn't actually had an opportunity to play it. :c)

Oh yes. Space Harrier is over 30 years old. That classifies as a long time but even from old games like this we can derive a useful commentary over design choices made. This has been my intention with #ngdf. ^_^

My plan is to continue moving from game to game - drawing out some of what made each game special while calling them out on any less-than-sterling choices made along the way. As an aspiring game designer myself I am finding the exercise enlightening. ^_^

Thanks again.

One of my first posts on Steemit was about JA2, it is truly a gem and has quite active community until today. I also added one of the graphics team on facebook, those guys are quite nostalgic about their own game as well.

Inspecting old games for forgotten kowledge and art seems like a great undertaking for a game dev. I will surely look into your research every now and then, I know a lot of old stuff but it is like a deep ocean full of sunken treasures.

A few short minutes into watching your first Lets Play vid and I really want to play this game. ^_^ I don't suppose this'll run on windows 10?!

I am personally a sucker for turn-based tactical games and so this sounds great to me. :c)

Oh - and yes - this is one of the motives that drives me forward inrevisiting the games of the past. My belief is that what was awsome on a 16 bit machine can likely be adapted to be awesome on a 64 bit machine. ^_^

lol, Jagged Alliance is the turn based tactic game!

You can get it in Steam for 4,99. It should run in Windows 10 as long as you delete the intro file. I am playing it on Win 8.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41