You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Personal Challenge: What Do @drwom, Chickens & A Subway Lunch Have In Common?

in #retirement7 years ago

I love my chickens, they are pretty easy to look after. Goats are little more difficult hehe. The project I want to take on at some point is horses! I can't wait to hear more about your work with Nayyerah!!! <3

Sort:  

Oh hi @wisewoof! Sounds like we can swap knowledge then! Thanks so much for your kind words. Goats are something we have considered too but the "eat through anything" stereotype put us off. How destructive are they in reality? Are they good for milk in any practical way?

Would be happy to chat about horses. We've been disgusted by almost every horse owner we have seen and know. Our gelding got scalped badly many years ago by rearing up and ripping off the top of his skull when his prior owner stupidly tried to force him into a float with a bum strap. Just an examole of the typical ignorance you see everywhere. Now walks on for us, sometimes without us even asking. He's still nervous in them however; they remember their experiences well, but he trusts us.

I posted some videos on some of our float training with Nayyerah on Steemit maybe 6 months ago or so. Being float trained from scratch by us the difference between her and Scarab (our gelding) in terms of behaviour around the float is stark.

I do their hoof care myself too as I didn't like how violently farriers can rip their legs around, especially with age and arthritis it's negligent.

Are you looking to get into horses for the first time?

Fabulous! Well the myths about them eating tin cans is for sure inaccurate but they explore the world with their mouths so most everything is for nibbling and they will certainly destroy your garden if allowed access to it lol. They also will strip bark off any trees in their pen. They are excellent for milk, providing a lot more than cows for their size and food consumption. The milk is also much healthier for you and very versatile in it's use. They're also a source of endless entertainment because they're so goofy & fun!

Tis unfortunate that most people are so ignorant when it comes to animal care, horses particularly get a bad deal. They are such intelligent beings. I hope to learn to do the floating & farrier work myself too. Yes, I am essentially looking to get into horses for the first time. I spent a fair amount of time around them when I was like 12 years old but not much beyond that. My plan is to volunteer at a friends ranch this year to gain more experience beyond just reading which I am very excited for!

The ranch time will be very valuable, hopefully! Maybe I should do some videos on handling and just basic stuff. Floating is one of those things that divorces are made of. It can cause so much grief for horse and human alike.

Interesting info on the goats, my interest has been renewed! Thanks so much!

Sounds like a difficult task! But one that must be done nonetheless. I took a course in vet assistance and learned a fair bit about their teeth so hopefully that gives me an upper hand of sorts. That would be fantastic to see more videos on the basics & handling :) I will be posting about milking my goats this year and also making cheeses! Also of course all their funny shenanigans haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34