Sunsets Are Amazing!

in #retirement7 years ago (edited)

One of our favorite activities is the simple beach walk. We head down to one of many beaches in the area to say goodbye to the day. Being that we are closer to the equator here in Oaxaca than​ in Canada, the dark comes consistently in the early evening... It can be quite surprising, how fast the sun falls into the ocean... seems like one minute I am walking along keeping an eye out for rogue waves and the next the sun disappears. It only takes several minutes in total!! It is a lovely ritual to do some barefoot earthing in the sand and water along the beach with an eye on​ the sun, as one reflects upon the day. ​

Sort:  

This picture is stunningly beautiful.

Thanks so much... it was amazing.

I remember when I visited the Dominican and the sun set each night at 6pm and rose each morning at 6am. It was another world, with hot sand and wet air and warm wind. This is a stark contrast from my life in cold dark Canada. As an adult I now work nights so I feel like I rarely see the sun, and if I do it is for only a few hours. I would love to have a second home somewhere near the equator. It would be time to look up and reflect on a starry sky that is unrecognisable. These moments I had, when I visited and gazed upwards, made me feel as if I was on an alien world. There is so much out there we dont even know about. Even our own solar neighborhood is a mystery, and our planet too. Enjoy your evening walks @snowbird I hope I can visit this beautiful beach one day!

Mike you must come visit!

#life
T. S. Eliot : The dream crossed twilight between birth and dying.

Yes there is something surreal about watching the sun go down or come up... hits one on a visceral level somehow.

Beautiful place, beautiful moment..Thank you for sharing!

Thanks for your interest. Love to share the joy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43