You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Personal Challenge: What Do @drwom, Chickens & A Subway Lunch Have In Common?

in #retirement7 years ago (edited)

Once you get a couple of chooks, you will become addicted. I currently have 4, so it's a ratio of one chicken per quarter of an acre ( I think that qualifies for free range). Mine pretty much take care of themselves. I let them out in the morning, they wander around the back yard all day, return to their coop in the evening by themselves and I lock them away.

I do have one which is brooding at the moment (her mother instincts have kicked in and she wants to hatch an egg). I have to kick her out of her nesting box every day, but after a while, she starts scratching around the back yard with the others.

Nothing like picking up a couple of fresh eggs each morning. The first time you find an egg in the nesting box, I guarantee you won't be able to wipe the smile from your face. I grinned like an idiot all the way back to the house carrying that very first egg.

Sort:  

Oh you describe the feeling of achievement so well! I just can't wait to get this going. I can actually feel the grin growing already. We have a fenced off house pad which they'd be able to forage in (it's quite large and has an incline at the back with varied terain and surfaces) and beyond that 10 acres so theyll have lots of space. Thanks for describing the thrill so well @atnicholson!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34