RESULTS ARE IN! And the winner is…

in #results7 years ago

RESULTS ARE IN! And the winner is...

antonio-barroro-212064.jpg
Photo by Antonio Barroro on Unsplash

BACON! BACON! and more BACON!

Who doesn't love bacon right? Well...I'm pretty sure there are a few and we can't fault them for that but in all reality I really hope we never have a shortage on pigs.

This past week has been a true test! Although it had a lot to do with eating bacon, losing weight, getting into ketosis, and burning fat...The true test was DISCIPLINE.

I love bacon and thats no secret (if it was it sure isn't now...lol). But this week I set a challenge for myself. You see, I can eat bacon every single day but can I eat it 7 days straight and all on it's own? Did I have the will power to face it everyday and not eat the variety of food that was placed in front of Chris and the girls? It was tough because they eat Keto as well. Our dinner is often cauliflower rice, chicken, cabbage and sausage, salad, brussels sprouts and so on! The temptation was not in the foods that we are not allowed to eat, ironically it was in the foods that are perfectly fine to eat and highly encouraged. I am grateful that we are on this journey together! But this week...I couldn't even have the good stuff...Ha!

What a challenge indeed!

I sat here at my table each night proud with my huge plate of bacon and yes, I even shared 🙂 And they gladly accepted. By the way...a pound and a half of bacon is a whole lot of pig to be eating in one day. Maybe this is why it is so successful in this WOE (way of eating). It certainly fills you up quick and contains a massive amount of both fat and protein to see you on your way to ketosis victory.

I was very surprised at the whole process and product.

Would I recommend this to others who are struggling to get started? ABSOLUTELY! And here are my reasons:

It certainly is a recommended food for the KETO WOE (way of eating) because of the high fat and protein content.
Its savory, filling and not usually a problem for people when it comes to digestion (this coming from other testimonies of people who have tried it)
I did not get tired of the flavor and there were so many ways to season this AMAZING food.
And probably the most important reason for me...it established a self-discipline and self-control again that I thought I had lost.
I have spent the entire last year struggling to stick to healthy food choices. The workouts were never an issue. I greatly enjoy the fitness training part of this lifestyle but the food was a struggle.

I feel we come to a point in our life sometimes that we think because we accomplished one thing its now time to reward ourselves for each and every accomplishment. It's time that we look at the bigger picture. The smaller accomplishments are precursors to the greater Victory and if we keep making a "Pitstop" (there's one of my words for the year) at each smaller one we delay our journey to the finish line. I don't want a detour to derail you from the goals you have set for yourself. Get through those smaller accomplishments with a pat on the back, a great job and a high five and tell yourself to keep Pressing Through because the mountain top holds so many treasures yet to be seen.

And with that...Here are my Bacon Challenge Results!

January 2, 2018 - Day 1

Starting Weight - 168.8

Body Fat % - 39.2

Muscle % - 27.6

Visceral Fat - 8

January 9, 2018 - Day 8

Current Weight - 159.4

Body Fat % - 35.1

Muscle % - 29.6

Visceral Fat - 7

Total Calculations

Total Weight Loss - 9.4 lbs

Total Body Fat % Loss - 4.1%

Total Muscle % Gain - 2%

Visceral Fat - Down 1%

Visceral Fat...

I told you I would give an explanation as to what this is. If you would like to read more on the topic of Visceral Fat just CLICK HERE and you'll be directed to an article with great info. Also, take some time to research on your own. You'll find some great resources.

Basically in short explanation, Visceral Fat is the fat that is mostly found wrapped around major organs. While it is ok to have some fat in this area, in excess it can cause many health issues. Have you ever heard the term fatty liver or kidney? It can cause inflammation in the gut area which can then lead to other issues. The great news is that it can be affected positively with healthy eating habits, exercising, reducing stress and getting good quality sleep each night. Where there's a will there is a way!

The Truth Be Told...

I have worked an entire (let me say that again) ENTIRE YEAR trying to get below 160 lbs. This has been a true struggle! I know that the focus can not consistently be on the numbers of that dreaded (almost forbidden) scale but I hit a milestone with this Challenge that I was beginning to give up on. The determination to PRESS THROUGH allowed me the opportunity to re-dedicate my life to clean, healthy living and added a BONUS with reaching a new goal.

This change that you and I decide to make reaches far beyond ourselves. It reaches to the ones we love and reminds us that we are all in this together.

My family and I want to live healthy so that we can continue to be the encouragement to you along your journey. The road is not always paved smooth and yes the stones beneath your feet at times will hurt but the calluses and scars will serve as a reminder that we made it through and we are living life on purpose for a purpose.

Be the encouragement to others and let us finish the race.

You can reach the mountaintop! I believe in you!

Jennifer

Sort:  

Excellent publication, a pleasure in reading and greeting you, follow me to be in constant communication I also hope that my posts can be of great help. success!

Thank you so much! Followed your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52