Farewell old friend.

in #restinpeace5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday we suffered a sudden loss, after walking downstairs in the afternoon I noticed a collection of water on the floor by one of the freezers, my look of concern turned into sheer terror when I noticed all the lights were off and screamed for my partner to come over and look.

We looked at it together and to no avail even though it was an old freezer, probably from the time of the industrial revolution, it chugged on and on until it could not any longer.

credit pixabay

We had such amazing adventures together

This is a german freezer called Leihberr which always reminds me of that song that Liza Minelli sang on cabaret. This was an amazing freezer because it froze food and did not get all frosted up like some freezers to.

credit Giphy

It was so efficient that when it go too cold it raised its on temperature so it would not frost over, I mean that's incredible isn't it you have to hand it to the Germans for such outstanding technology. I always remember the day it arrived and it was set in place and I plugged it in to the power socket.

Listening to the whirring come to life followed by the deafening beeping to say that it was not cold enough, it took ages to figure out what button to press to shut it up, the bright green illuminated display showed its current temperature and it stood so proud in our utility room.

Oh how we laughed and had some fun times every time I went to fill it or take a joint of meat out, that we would occasionally crack and random joke. I remember the one it told me about the duck that went in the bar wanting bread, oh how I laughed for weeks after that.

Oh we had such fun our freezer and I, it never let me down. In the summer months when I opened the door and it would tell me that my ice was nice and icy cold, reminding me that I had fresh watermelon in the bottom draw ready to turn into something slushy and alcoholic.

And with the help of the community.

So I was in Whaleshares community sharing my sorrow and my mourning for said freezer, community was great and supportive about it. So much so that I informed them that our neighbours want the freezer, even though I told them it has gone to the freezer heaven in the sky, but the community helped me work out things they might want to use it for.

It would seem that when a freezer dies it has many uses and we concluded the following it might be use for.

Here are some of those thoughts

  • A Coffin

  • A Wardrobe

  • Storage Facility

  • A car.

  • A Bath

  • A closet

  • A spare bedroom.

  • A flower bed.

source

So all in all it is great to see that it can be upcycled and used as something else and that all is not lost and freezer can go on and become something else which would be of great use.
I would also just like to thank @ijimmai who also made me smile this morning and made my grief a little more bearable.

And so dear freezer we must depart, thank you for your friendship and your support over the years, for preventing me from getting salmonella or ecoli, for keeping me cool in the summer months I will never forget you. Rest in peace dear friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93