You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help me resolve my argument with @resteem.bot

in #resteembot7 years ago

You misunderstand what I mean by advertisment campaign.
There are 4 accounts - @investigation, @motomania, @counterweight, @extras who actively look for new posts, upvote them and write a long comment like "I upvoted you. Check out @resteembot".
The people are usually thankful for that, but it is still not clear if it is spam or not.
It is a bit of a gray area...

Otherwise - thank you for your great answer.

Sort:  

Ok. In that case - yeah, people can be justified in calling what you are doing, "spam," because it is unsolicited bot activity. This can be very annoying - especially if the bots' upvote is basically worthless (less than 2 or 3 cents).

People are coming here who crave real human interaction, which steemit is good at providing. Coming back to your post after a while & seeing it covered in comments by bots is disheartening. I have experienced this same thing, recently, and it's not what I want to see steemit become. I would keep on doing your resteembot - but don't use bots to advertise. Only do an "advertisement" for your own resteem service if you are manually curating, upvoting and commenting on posts - that way it is coming from a real, actual person. "Advertising" is generally annoying to most people - but it is sometimes less annoying if it's at least coming from a real person.

You would do just as well to make a post every-other-day with your @resteembot account which explains how to use your service. It will attract interested people. People who are not interested won't click on it - and they won't be bothered.

So, seriously - knock off the spam-bots, in my opinion. They have a tendency to provoke a very negative response from some people. I blew one of them up about 5 or 6 weeks ago, because it was annoying the hell out of me. The guy did change his tactics, I believe. He wasn't a bad sort - but most Steemians like the fact that we don't get spammed to death on SteemIt like you do on every other social media site in existence. At the very least, keep your own "advertisements" at the bottom of your own posts. Rarely would I insert it on somebody else's posts. Maybe one time, to somebody who introduces' themselves to steemit - but no more than that.

I understand your point, but at the same time I can't fully agree. The bots are part of SteemIt and that was intended by design. That is why we have been provided the tools to easily make bots.
Even some 'spamming' bots are nice. Especially the ones that give useful information on wellcome posts.
I have seen many great posts with my advertisment on them only. I read them because I saw them through the advertisements.
If I didn't, nobody would have read them at all.
It is not a normal type of attention, yes, but how is that worse than having 0 views?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52