Just did my first Resteem...

in #resteem7 years ago (edited)

I appreciate a few people here on Steemit, without using hashtags to suck up to people, that would include Joe against the spread (ATS). But my first re-steem paid homage to Gene Wilder. I almost started getting into the whole writing contest thing, but I either suck as a writer or feel the restraints on time render the effort futile at best.

Maybe it's these whales I hear about. It's funny because I love whales, and they never seem to hurt anybody, but on here they can make or break you. I guess I avoid them because I don't even understand what this site is all about. I get cryptocurrency and blockchains and all that, but there is a language on this site that makes Africaans a freakin can of corn.

I grew up on Willy Wonka, as did most of you. If you want to view paradise, simply look around and view it...right? But EBryans laid it all out in a way that I approve. PERIOD. EBryans laid it down in a way I beheld as awesome. EBryans brought the house down with rhyme and reason, so that is reason to celebrate. Thank you. I appreciate the thought and creativity you expressed. Dare I say it motivated me. It takes a lot to motivate me. After all I use the computer mouse in my bad hand because I refuse to succumb to the pressure of downing the clicker.

Fandom of Gene Wilder IS "Wilder-NESS". His passing casts a shadow on the trivial writing contest. I wasn't boycotting for this reason, I was boycotting because nobody seems to care - or the aforementioned lack of talent, which I do have according to my mother. Willy Wonka is an ICON and should be celebrated. I entered not the contest, but I throw my name in that hat as someone who has been profoundly touched by the talents of Gene Wilder. You may think that I am a fool, this post might stink like poo; but I loved Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein, too...like the Oom-pa-Loom-pa-Doom-pi-dy-Doo....
...
Doompidy doo!

Sort:  

I don't think you suck at writing ... not at all.

I met Mr. Wilder when I was working at Wherehouse Records in Westwood, CA in the mid 80's.
Compact Disc music was just becoming popular, and it was still expensive. The first of the Compact Discs to become available to the masses was the Beatles collections.
Gene came in one slow afternoon mid week and purchased every Beatles CD we had. He was quiet, very kind and gentle. You wouldn't have known it was HIM ...
I was so overwhelmed I couldn't say anything.
I almost burst into tears as I brought his choices to the register.
I was ...
so relieved when he smiled gently, and said, "I know. I'm your hero."
We both busted up and it was beautiful. I was nodding and laughing ... but it was his turn to get serious when I said, "It wasn't for being Mr. Wonka ... it was for being the fox in the Little Prince. I fell in love with you then."
He was shocked and happy, "That was my favorite roll!"


I just resteemed you

Wow... YOU made my day. And to top it off, from another So. Californian. I live in Italy now, but you brought me home with the Wherehouse. We had one at our local mall, and another across the street from the Sports Arena. I bought Wham's "Make it Big" there...don't laugh, but it was my first album.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59