Resteem: yes or not...Is it worth to share others' posts?

in #resteem6 years ago (edited)

(Questo post è disponibile anche in italiano)

Resteem, or not resteem?

It' friday afternoon.

I can't think about a better spot to talk about "resteem", considering the up-coming weekend which gives everybody more time to read and spend a word about the topic.

img-resteem-offi.jpg
Photo collage by the author, pics from pixabay.com

Today I'd like to talk about the possibility to share others' contents, something I wanted to talk about since a few weeks as I find it a pretty undervalued topic, indeed.

Is it worth to "resteem"? And what about our own wall which could be overloaded by posts from several authors...Isn't it confusing?

A looooooong term period

As I mentioned in a previous post about my job (which soon will be available in ENG as well), I'm much sensitive to the "short term/long term" matter. It simply tips the scale when it comes to making choices, whether in Steemit or somewhere else.

Writing on this platform means being rewarded for the efforts spent, according to the number/weight of upvotes received. It's easy to realize the larger the fan base, the more upvotes you can potentially get. Having followers means being able to select your own users and therefore knowing that certain kind of contents is effectively reaching someone who's interested in it.

Moreover, it's thanks to followers we can understand if we're succeeding or not on this platform, as well as it happens on Facebook, Twitter and so on. A chronological order is used by all these social networks to sort posts on each author's wall, no matter if it's something freshly written or just a shared content.

The advantage of being resteemed consists in 'leaning on' someone else's fan base, so to reach more people and consequently enlarge the number of our own followers. Something which goes way beyond a single upvote.

As I discussed with @AlexZicky in a private chat, some of my last posts have had not so as many upvotes as the number of views. Is this considered as a good result? Apparently not, since I didn't make much money out of it, but in my opinion yes.

Maybe it will not seem to be worth in a short-term period, and yes, I could have probably have earned more by not having tons of other's posts on my wall. Maybe that very reader who upvoted my post would have done the same with the previous one if they didn't have to look for it and scroll down on my wall. Perhaps.

On other hands, what we should also consider is that if I find interest in reading a specific author, I will maybe use one of the many tools available online, as for instance steemworld.org/@nomeutente, on which you just have to scroll down the page to check the "Recent Posts" section, where all posts are perfectly aligned.

post-ordine.JPG

Resteem: my 2cents

In my humble opinion, who wants to succeed on Steemit has to take in high consideration the long-term rather than thinking about a quick (selfish) gain. I personally share all contents I want on my wall, depending on my personal taste, the faith I have in the author or the relationship I have with him/her.

Just yesterday, for instance, I wrote a post to welcome a friend of mine @lostinberlin. A really good photographer and illustrator, both for her studies as for the quality of her works, whom I wanted to give a bit more visibility by sharing with her my fan base (even if isn't super large itself). Something really important, especially for newbies.

It's way easier to get more followers if more and more users would start sharing other's contents. Also, it's possible to earn money by sharing something: if a certain post gets a good interaction, powered by the re-blogging possibility, users can earn by writing and upvoting comments.

I have respect for everyone else's choices - Steemit is a self-regulating system - and just the time will tell us whether I'm right or wrong. I do think not sharing anything may be a limit for the author itself, as long as they dont' have already a solid fan base coming from a different social network (And even if, they're free to share contents as well).

I could mention @dougpolkcrypto, one of the most well-known poker player on the international scene, who's crushing Youtube with his channel and just opened a Steemit-crypto appendix which has already around 2K followers in about one month (a number which, I think, will grow faster). I don't wanna talk about eventual deals/relationship with whales, I'm just talking about the number of people he's able to reach and the subsequent interaction from his posts.

That said, there isn't a right number of posts to share, everything should be at author's discretion: the more you're willing to share, the higher the chances to be resteemed (even though no one should expect anything from the others, as it would be an exchange more than a real act of sharing).

Now it's your turn to say something about: write a comment below and let everybody know your thoughts on this topic.

For an Italian version of this post click here

Follow me @bronsedi

Sort:  

Absolutely it is. Also I appreciate your support <3

Same as for me man! See u at the next meet up or maybe before!

When you are juvenile plankton such as myself, a resteem is extremely valuable. It is a way of getting your content out to more than a handful of people, which is really hard to do. On my last post I used some resteem bots to try and get my post out there and maybe pick up a follower or three. It seems to be working a little bit. Anyway, thanks for the good read!

Yes, I totally agree with ur point of view. Which bots did u use for that?

I used @steemvote, @resteemr, and @morwhale. So far the post has 85 upvotes but is only at 1.20
I didn't spend much so I didn't expect much, but I think it's a good, quality, original content post that definitely benefits the community if read. I'm just trying to get some more followers and get my posts visible to more folks.

I resteem from the heart, like you do. I don't really consider if my boost will lead to a payoff. I think of my wall as a magazine for creating more caring in the world. If a post expresses that, I may resteem it. Tbh, I don't have a mind for gaming this system. I just dwell here authentically, gathering my one-one-thousandths of an sbd as they roll in. I am extremely grateful for times I got curated by a biggie and made some bank, though.

I upvote every single meaningful reply made to me, too. And that uses up all my paltry voting power. Lol oh well ;)

Giving one of my pathetic little upvotes to you for being genuine and generous. I wondered why people were so stingy with likes and shares around here, when I give likes and shares all the time. People get into these Discord dystopias where the dictator Dear Leaders get all the upvotes for some pretty lame content. Don't get me started on the bots! 🙄 Cockroaches. Lol. Sorry for the rant. Thanks for listening. I guess I'll just keep doing what I like to do, making posts that I like and upvoting and sharing others' posts I like. I'm going to live in my own poverty-ridden yet democratic utopia. Good thing I didn't come here to make money.

The subtle line between helping each other and trying to centralize a decentralized system. Unfortunately, in Steemit as in many other things in life, where money are shit happens. That's so far what I've got to learn in those years. Keep doing your way, though, which is my way too. We'll probably not be wales tomorrow morning, but we can hold our heads up at least ;)

I do it as well, but as far as I can see Steemit isn t just tha beautiful happy environment I wished for when, in 2016 I oponed my account. In general, everywhere there s money people behave differently. More than whales and dolphins here I see sharks. People trade votes and try to run small groups in something which claimed to be a decentralized system. This is not about blogging anymore, it s about dirty money. I m glad to read comments like yours, we ll probably be the losers in this platform but at least we didn t compromise

My expectations are low, so I always win hehehe . Blessings to you this weekend and on

I'm a mere minnow so I am not sure how empowering a resteem is from me for the OP. That being said, I do resteem when it feels right. I am hopeful that it will help it spread and also give even more encouragement to the Author...just seems like the neighborly thing to do. My belief is there is plenty for all and it will all come around for everyone. Sometimes it as gratifying to get a positive comment as it is to get a 'tip' or resteem. Basically, it is all good, IMO :) <3

Interaction should be the purpose of a social network. Is it Steemit still a social or has ever been one? I m still trying to find an answer...thanks for your feedback though ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85