Boom Steak Restauran (in Krabi): it's a great value - but don't expect much

in #restaurants6 years ago

Inexpensive steakhouses are very popular in Thailand. Not inexpensive ones are as well but this appeals to a far more affluent sector of the community. As expensive as going to a fancy steakhouse is in the west, it is likely more expensive here in Thailand because we have no easy access to quality beef.

This one is called Boom Steak but there are places just like it all over the place. You can go into this place and order a steak for $2 and up. Obviously, this is not going to be a super-fancy cut of meat, I would be surprised if it isn't microwaved, but if you are looking for protein but don't want to break the bank, you could do worse than this place.


The place is very foreigner-friendly as the menus are all over the walls and the English, for the most part, is accurate. The prices are astoundingly low (for steak) and i think that is why the place is popular, it certainly isn't because of the culinary genius going on in here.

The major problem I have is that you are presented with a picture that looks like this

20799184_1424027304349385_4190912814594457149_n.jpg

and you actually end up receiving looks more like this
48427932_207869390119602_6630369854987698176_n.jpg

Now this wouldn't be the first time that someone's photos didn't exactly match the product. This is true in pretty much every restaurant in the world so no harm there. I guess I was just a bit disappointed that mine was so small.

However, the flavor was good and it wasn't nearly as tough as I was expecting (and trust me, you expect chewy beef in Thailand) so I will definitely return. I may just end up ordering something different. Lord knows there are plenty of things on the menu.

Normally this place is quite busy and you just wander in and pull choose a table. There are very few staff members but it doesn't really matter how many people are there, the food arrives quickly (which leads me to believe they are microwaving most of what comes out even more).

42917404_1864827813602663_989112439779885056_o.jpg

If you want to experience a passable steak for $2-4 (comes with like 12 fries and a very small salad also) this might be the place for you. They re located in Krabitown and you can find them here

Sort:  

"However, the flavor was good and it wasn't nearly as tough as I was expecting"

Can't you just ask to cook it for a longer period? I want it medium rare.

I suppose you could and I agree with your sentiment. However the toughness isn't coming from it being cooked improperly, it is because Thailand has low-quality beef. If you are eating somewhere fancy they almost certainly imported the beef from USA, Aus, or New Zealand and you are paying a premium for the luxury.

Thanks for your explanation. Amazing that it is low-quality beef. What is the reason? The heat, grass quality?

i think it just comes from the fact that this culture always embraced pork and chicken, possibly because they are more manageable species? I don't know, i'm not a farmer. I just know that the only time you see cows here there are just a couple of them in a village and they don't appear to be the massive type they have in other countries. Maybe the heat is the reason why. I honestly have no idea. I think there are specific breeds of cows in the west (and of course Japan, who makes the best) and they just aren't here.

Why not cook your own steak? Do thai people have the time?

well for the most part i think that Thai people like to eat out as much as anyone else. I never met a Thai that cooked their own steak. Plenty make beef for being mixed in curries. I guess it is just a preference of home food vs. eating out food. :)

I'm hangry right now so give me a bite:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36