The Good View (restaurant / bar - Chiang Mai): A nice mid-range place on the river

in #restaurant5 years ago

Thailand is known for their wide-array of cheap food available pretty much everywhere. I'll be honest and say that this place is NOT cheap but cost is all a matter of perspective. The Good View has a nice atmosphere, and scenic location on the Ping River, and a ton of staff.... This costs money and is the reason why it could be considered a bit expensive.

goodview-chiang-mai.jpg
source

This extremely popular place is close enough to downtown to be easily accessed by anyone staying visiting the city, but far enough away to have ample parking day or night. It is a popular place to visit in the early evening, primarily for sitting out along the water. As the sun goes down, it becomes one of the most popular nightclub-type atmospheres in the entire city. I mean this place really fills up.

The-Good-View-Bar08.jpg
source

For me, I actually didn't like it when it got late because the band was so loud that it became difficult for me to hear and talk to the people that were around my table. I have a little bit of a sore throat today because you have to talk really loud to be heard and that isn't really what I am looking for in a night out. However, I understand that a lot of people like this sort of atmosphere.

As is typical with Thai night-spots, there is a TON of food on the menu, and all of the items that we ordered were excellent although I would say that they were around 2x as much as these items would cost in a less-fabulous place (although this sort of markup in a fancy place is pretty universal.)


source
raw shrimps anyone? Never try, never know... as they say in Thailand

One thing that I have always found odd about Thai nightclubs is the fact that these environments are very rarely social. People tend to stay around their own table and never mingle at all. For a westerner this is quite strange and kind of defeats the purpose of having a nightclub in the first place. I'm just saying that this is not a spot to go to if you are hoping to meet some new friends, but it is a fun spot to go to if you already have some pals.


source

All in all, i would say that this place is one of the better spots in the city for a night out. You can expect to pay around $30 a person for a several hour stay. In my mind this is expensive for Thailand but extremely cheap by Western standards. Oh, on another less-than-wonderful note, they apparently don't know how to make the cocktails on the menu, so just stick to beer. We ordered 3 cocktails and all of them were wrong.

Location including GPS coordinates


13 ถนน เจริญราษฎร์ ตำบลวัดเกต อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ เชียงใหม่ 50000


although i did not submit this for tasteem, i highly suggest that you do so if you can. There are weekly rewards and the project is a good one!

Sort:  

I really like the scene of the restaurant, but if the band was so loud it is a no-go for me. I like to enjoy meals talking with others and just with mild music.

Excelentes fotos que te tientan a querer conocer esos ligarr

I have trouble focusing and concentrating anyway, so when the music gets really loud, having a conversation is totally out the window. Plus with all those people you probably are constantly getting bumped into etc. I am not a big fan of crowds, so I would probably be bailing before it gets too crazy. The food looks good and you are right, the prices are decent by western standards. You never know what you are going to get with mixed drinks so I usually stick with beer or straight whiskey on the rocks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55