Growing up as a first Child in a Nigerian Home

in #responsibility7 years ago

My name is Ayodele Omokoga,a Nigerian,and i am Yoruba by tribe.The youruba tribe is one of the 3major tribes we have in Nigeria.Let me quickly tell you the major tribes we have in Nigeria.

1:we have the Hausas (this tribe consists of the northerners in Nigeria )

2:The Yorubas (we are the westerners in Nigeria)

3:The Igbos or Ibos (they are the people from the eastern part of Nigeria)

So back to my story,I'm the first child of my parents and they have 6children.we are 3females and 3males.

I was born into a christian home and in Nigeria you pratice the religion of your parents,you dont even have a say where it concerns religion where your parents are concerned and trust me Nigerian parents are dramatic when it concern issues as sensitive as religion.you don't want the drama trust me.

I grew up in an average Nigerian home.My Dad works for the government and my mum was a business woman.

As a first child alot of responsibility is placed on your shoulder and alot is expected of you.It is your duty as the first child to look after your siblings and when a sibling does something wrong,you get to take the blame for it.

I remember vividly an incident that happened when i was in High school,my Dad had come to pick us up after the close of school and my kid brother had misplaced his school lunch box,out of excitement  i had not noticed he was not carrying hi lunch box.Getting home my mum who was a very observant woman noticed the moment we got out of the car.And she goes like "Ayodele where is your brother's lunch box?

I had no clue he had left it in his class,i received a very good whooping by my mum.According to her it was my responsibility to make sure everything he takes to school with him comes back home with him intact. Infact his welfare should be my uttermost concern.Remember i wasn't the one who lost my lunch box but i got my ass whooped for someone else's mistakes.

This little things looked harsh back then but they shaped me into becoming the responsible lady that i am today.

I lost my mum in my final year at the University. It was the most devastating moment of my entire life.I lost her to Breast Cancer.I thought my life was over.The thoughts that kept running through my mind were

A:where would I start from?

B:How do I cope taking care of 5 siblings and many more...

I came to the realisation that i was going to be a grown up way too early.The onus laid in my hands to take care of my siblings.i had siblings who were 5 and 8years old at that time.They were just kids who still needed their mum.

I had to take up the roles of my mum and an elder sister.It wasnt easy,i had so many challenges guiding my siblings,i had times and moments when i cried my eyes out because i also wanted my mum to be there for me and i needed someone to talk to desperately. 

Look at me now.I'm a grown lady and my siblings are no longer babies I've settled into my role as mum and sister nicely and its not so bad after all.At the end of the day the littel things i was punished for back then made me realise i had to be more sensitive to my surroundings and pay more attention to people around me.it helped me in taking care of and guiding my siblings and shaped me into becoming a better person.

I'll love to conclude by leaving you with this thought"There is a lesson in every situation be it god or bad that you might be passing through,take a closer look at your situation pick out the lessons and make use of it you might just be bracing yourself up to pull  through  future challenges like a Champ".

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story, Im sure your mom is proud of the woman you have become. Blessings to you and your family.

Thank you so much this means alot to me.Blessings to you also.

Congratulations @ayodelzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67