Discussion Time! "The underestimated Youth"

in #respect7 years ago

Through out life we are told from the day of birth that we must respect our elders. Yet through life the most disrespectful bunch of people tend to be elderly. Now I understand that was a bit broad of a net I cast but it isn't as if i believe all elderly are angry rude people. Yet I am calling out the ridiculous notion that someone is deserved of respect by their younger pier. Today ,as an example of my fueled belief, I was questioned by a man older than me of my credentials as a bartender because of my youth then went forward to rudely remark how i knew nothing. So please tell me why we continue to fuel the minds of youth that we are lesser, undeserving of equal respect, and incapable of being knowledgeable because of our youth.

Hope you enjoyed reading and I truly hope to see some convos in the comments!

Sort:  

I wouldn't go so far... but my personal motto is that people should get the exact amount of respect they give to others.

I'd argue that the circumstances that have brought about such impropriety in our elders is a product of modern society... boomers are spoiled entitled brats. As my father, who's of Boomer age, but grew up in the third world put it:

'They got their way in every major junction of their development, and now they're trying to argue with the fate they've created'

But yeah. Age is not synonymous with maturity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36