You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring Sleep Paralysis

in #research8 years ago (edited)

We're so used to the waking/sleeping transition happening smoothly that we don't recognize how many different parts of the brain have to be perfectly coordinated to pull it off.

I was surprised to see half a million YouTube results for "sleep paralysis" just now. I was looking for a documentary I saw a few months ago, which I couldn't find again. It implied that because so many people report similar imagery (red-eyed shadow people led by a shadow in a hat) during sleep paralysis, said images must be real. They were not taking into account all the external, cultural ways that we have of synchronizing our dream lives (like reading and commenting on half a million YouTube videos, for instance). @mada is writing a series on this kind of stuff.

Sort:  

thanks for pointing that out. I didnt actually look on youtube yet but I'll do that now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52