You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Genetic Mutations linked to Obesity

in #research8 years ago

Epigenetics is really interesting. Wasn't there some work a few years ago that used the mortality records in Ireland to track the genetic changes that we due to the potato famine? I was pretty sure that I read it somewhere. I read a lot so I forget the source.

Sort:  

was it the Dutch hunger from the 1940s?

For some reason I was thinking that it was Ireland. I easily could be wrong I think the reason that it stuck in my memory was commentary on the how comprehensively the mortality records were and good information on lineage.

the Dutch Hunger study is one of the most cited in the epigenetics literature as it suggests how conditions in pregnant females life mark the lives of offsprings even in second generations (grandchildren)

I will check it out. Genetics is not my strength but I am a pretty fast study.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48