You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Genetic Mutations linked to Obesity

in #research8 years ago (edited)

Great post! I'd love to get my DNA sequenced so I can do some bioinformatics on it - I'd love to know if I, personally, decended from apes or from something else :)

I'm no expert but "precise order" has to be wrong because each cell has it's own mutated version of your DNA. So you probably get some kind of average or "mosaic" of your DNA.

Sort:  

it is relative. autosomal mutations, that you get during life, are different from those in the germline - the gamet that turned into you - so in this case, it's more precise. most cells have the same DNA. based on location in the body, genes are expressed differently. if a cell gets its DNA corrupted, if repair/damage control mechanism cannot rehabilitate it, they usually go under programmed cell death,. if DNA repair mechanism are corrupted, cells may mutate uncontrollably, such is in the case of tumor.

getting back, 'precise order' is mostly accurate and for the purpose of better understanding I wanted to leave it like it. but I get your point :)

It sounds like you know a lot more about this than I do. :) Thanks for the explanation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69