You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Interesting Facts About Reputation on Steemit

in #reputation7 years ago

Your article included a lot of information that I didn't know! Call me a critic but I don't think your proposals will take off...great ideas though. If there could be some kind of algorithm that determines behavior and integrity, that would be ideal. How to figure out who has integrity? One approach could be: certain key words would bring a reputation down... Abusive language, for instance.

I find algorithms fascinating, and in a recent article, I called for the use of them, however some people brought up the point that some algorithms could open the door to corruption and censorship. I realized my ideas on them would only hold weight in a perfect world! Thanks for your post! :)

Sort:  

You're welcome and thanks for the comment. I see I have a lot more to sift through.

I think an algorithm on abusive language would also be hard to gauge because it would be difficult to code in the context. People curse and say mean things in good ways too. I personally like the idea of a rating system and maybe the ratings fall off after 100 days or something like that. That way, if you have one bad rating and 50 good ones, the number will be favorable. It would be a true reflection of your reputation. If after some time, you had no more run-ins with anybody, your rating could improve to 5 stars or whatever. Currently, a war with a single individual can wreck your rating. If you have a ton of SP, you could also give yourself a high rating through self-votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63