You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal for fixing Reputation system

in #reputation8 years ago

Upvoted because I respect the thought that went into this. I do think the reputation system needs some adjustments, not sure if these are the right ones, but the discussion should be opened.

One thing I would propose is cap the effect of a downvote on anyone with significant positive rep to only push the rep down to exactly zero, regardless of the SP of the downvote (not deep negative from one downvote). It would then take another downvote to push it negative.

Sort:  

There must be a cap, user cannot recover otherwise.

I guess so - but wasn't your rep like -5 the other day, and now you're a healthy 6? My concern with caps is that they're so easy to sidestep with multiple accounts. Reputation systems are tricky because they're so easy to game; I'm actually not sure there's a solution that doesn't involve scrapping the whole thing.

Anyway, thanks for your thoughts!

I guess your proposal would help a little; it would provide one little barrier to getting insta-downvoted. But if you're a large SP holder, chances are you have more than one account already and could get around the little barrier easily enough by simply voting twice. You know, just like how you voted twice on this post. :)

If you like my ideas and my writing, have a look at the latest installment of my game theory series!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44