You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monetizing Reputation

in #reputation8 years ago (edited)

@dantheman

It is popular mythology that we should own our reputation, but your reputation is nothing but the beliefs others have about you. You do not own their thoughts and beliefs.

I was about to write an article about this subject for tomorrow but now I don't feel like doing it since I don't want to destroy what I have built so far. You have covered me pretty much.

This is my favourite quote of all time and it describes not only reputation but the human experience in its entirety. It was going to be my opening line:

To be is to be percieved, and so to know thyself is only possible through the eyes of the other... The nature of our immortal lives is in the consequences of our words and deeds, that go and impressionate themselves throughout all time...
... Our lives are not our own. From womb to tomb, we're bound to others... Past and present... And by each crime and every kindness, we birth our future..."

- David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas

Sort:  

that is a trippy f'n flick!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65