You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monetizing Reputation

in #reputation8 years ago (edited)

Scary. Why should the community be able to revoke what I have already earned If I should have unpopular opinions?

One of the major points of Dan's post was that people don't own their reputation. The individual's reputation belongs to others through their collective views about the individual. For that reason it is not about what you have earned, it is about the right of the community to have a measure of their collective view.

Sort:  

about the right of the community to have a measure of their collective view.

I understood that: I really didn't make myself clear by trying to work in a 3 different points at once. Dan did a great job in explaining the problems involved in any reputation system.

The point that I should have focused on was not that reputation should be immutable after earning a certain level, but that due to the ...ahem...capriciousness...of any given community, those with power in the community need to act nobly to maintain the integrity of the reputation system.

I won't use any names, but we had the specific example of a Steemer that was downvoting newbies out of the gate. Someone with the power to do so that in terms of technical ability and voting weight set up a bot to counter that.

Going back to my "evoke" quote, I was looking at it in terms of taking away a vote-earned token, instead of looking at it in terms of adding negative votes. Either way, you end up with negative rep; it's just that taking away a token earned struck me as wrong. Call it semantics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44