3 brains and still almost driven over by a car

in #reptiles7 years ago

These guy are becoming really rare. The local flap-necked chameleon

There used to be plenty at the farm when I was growing up, but roads and traffic are decimating them in our area.

I was heading out to the farm this week-end and was lucky to see this one crossing the road.

We were able to quickly make a u-turn and pick it up before it was squished by the cars behind us.

They don't quite have three brains but they have two "non-coupled neural bundles". One neural bundle for controlling each eye. These then send separate images to the brain for processing.

Here is what they look like crossing the road and you can see why the get squished if there is any amount of traffic.

We have kept a couple in the past and they tame up pretty quickly. So within a week or two you can have them taking food out of your hands.

Sort:  

I have often seen them in documentaries and they sure are unfortunately prone to be squished under wheels... I didn't know they were easily tameable though. Cool fact, thanks for sharing and namaste :)

love the music, I remember visiting a koala bear preserve in australia and been told that a lot of them get run over crossing the street due to their defence mechanism is to stay still and hope not to be seen

The Pink Panther, very appropriate...

thanks fina bilder

They look way bigger than what I thought a chameleon was!

These are still not very big... sub-adults for flap-necked chameleons... but there is a wide range in sizes

From small

to big

I saved one a while back! The people near Rustenburg put them in two liter cool drink bottles so that they can't escape. Then they sell these to foreigners. I bought one and took it home. Unfortunately it disappeared soon after. Luckily we live in an area where they can survive easily.

Well done, but unfortunately buy paying money to "rescue" it, the cycle continues...

It is a common trick out Rustenburg way and the locals have turned it into a business.

I agree but felt so bad for the poor little thing in the bottle. I nearly slapped the guy and just gave him the money and we left. I did report this to WESSA so hopefully they will stop this in it's tracks. Terrible that people can behave like this but I just don't think they see any value in these little animals except "MONEY"

It sounds like something like that would do well in your area. It is an expensive thing, but I it saves animals and it looks amazing:
http://twistedsifter.com/2012/07/animal-bridges-around-the-world/
I just wonder if chameleons would understand how to use it. Or you have other animals as well?

lol very interesting

It looks so awesome! Loved it!

Stunning post, I also remember seeing a lot more than what I do now. First step to conservation is education - my very own slogan lol

Creating the awareness of their declining numbers and how human actions plays a part therein - is the first step to helping these little fellows!

And the way I see it, even if it only helps one - It will make a big difference to that one!

aye its dat boi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93