I don't care how biased you are!

in #repostfriday7 years ago (edited)

Many of the posts I have come across on Steemit have felt very sterile. Almost as if the person writing it did not have an opinion. Understanding that Steemit is a business and represents your brand is important as you do not wish to destroy your brand.

Understand your bias

Perhaps your posts do not represent you and therefore you need to display a certain amount of disconnection. If you are, for example, reporting on news, it is important to be unbiased in your reporting.

But even then, the person behind the screen, doing the typing, is a person. You will have opinions!

Personally, I like to read reports that have a certain amount of the creator's personality in it. When you post, make it clear when you are expressing an opinion. Being able to present the facts is one thing, but being able to give the facts and keeping your opinion aside is another.

I found this video on YouTube that demonstrates the thought.


Done by Charisma on Demand: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCU_W0oE_ock8bWKjALiGs8Q

My thoughts

The older I get, the more I realise that understanding a person's point of view is important. It gives you an opportunity to relate, debate and possibly change the minds of people.

When I was in school, a teacher that I despised told me this;

33% of people will like you. 33% will hate you. 33% Don't give a damn.

The world cannot be summed up into such a rough statistic, but it did teach me something. Do not shy away from your opinion. Try to persuade those you can, but also do not be so rigid as to never be swayed. Listen to the argument. Weigh it against yours and let the debate lead you...

Please follow me @dracosalieri as I would love to hear from you. Ask me questions and I will be happy to start a conversation.

This is a re-post that I believe is hetting even more relevant in Steemit today!

Signature.PNG

Sort:  

Another thing I learned from talking with people I disagree with, is in order to stay more calm on all sides, always give the other person "an out". It may be satisfying, but trapping someone in their own logic will frustrate them and make them dig their heels in harder. Give them the benefit of the doubt and always allows them a way to explain themselves instead of shouting "ha gotcha"

Brilliant point! The point of discussion, in my opinion, is not to 'win' but to have the best argument...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Awesome and well said. Being shallow and superficial isn't the way to do it. That's not the way to go about Steemit and life. Be yourself and add personality in there. Gg!!

Agreed!! Besides, a little bit of bias and opinion helps me to understand your personality and viewpoint. If I disagree with it, it makes things more fun because then discussion can happen. With the world seemingly devolving into Social Justice anarchy, a discussion is more important than ever!

Aye Aye, well said :)

Very good post my friend. Well written.

Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79