You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UNEXPECTED FLAG DOWN FROM troglodactyl

in #report6 years ago

The sort of new members a community attracts and the habits they develop have a massive impact on how that community develops, yes.

Calling me a bully and telling me that I suck without offering any counterargument to address the reasons I provide for what I'm doing is completely unpersuasive.

Sort:  

I don't know how many people you have downvoted, but eventually you will create an enemy. The risk is low, but some of us will evolve into influential members of the community. What will happen when the resentment is still there? Wars and chaos. How many people have you discuss this particular solution with? Was this something that everyone had agreed upon? You have to understand. This is Steemit. There is no wrong and right answers. Only steem power. You still haven't convinced me how one single fish in the ocean will impact the whole community when there are other people out there posting unoriginal memes and content.

That's a risk many of us are going to have to take to give Steem a chance at sustainable success. Downvotes are a necessary part of the system to counter abuse. There will be some drama as consensus develops regarding what's abuse and what isn't, but I think I've presented well reasoned arguments for why this sort of spamming and upvote buying qualifies. I'm open to discussing counterarguments.

I'm glad you handle this conversation with professionalism. It makes me respect you more. However, I am still on the fence on using the "downvoted" method. In the end, this is for the community to decide. My fear is that things will get out of hand. By using the power of reputation and influence to intimate others, I believe that we are one step closer to a centralized(police) network rather than a decentralize one. People that abuse their power within the Steemit community is not a new concept. We just don't see eye to eye. I support all of my minnows followers and friends, so I apologized if things got heated.

Understood. It's certainly for the community to decide what's rewarded on this network, and that happens through discussions like these and through upvotes and downvotes by all members of the community.

Centralization of power/stake on Steem is another (but clearly related) issue. It is something I'm worried about, but rewarding minnows who create good content is the only actionable solution I'm working on at the moment. The others will take more organized support.

I was having a bad day yesterday and my friend was involved, so I apologized for being so hostile. My point is that while this is spam, it was meant to lend a helping hand to other minnows. You didn't have to down vote. You mentioned once that censorship is as bad as spam. Yet, I failed to see your reason in your action. Two wrongs don't make a right. If you want to set up rules, someone need to set an example. How do you expect everyone to follow your rules when we have different opinions on the matter? How do you expect everyone to follow your rules when those who are in a position of power remain unaffected? What would you do when a whale start spamming? Nothing. It's not like my friend here is making money off of it. I doubt a couple of pennies from a few minnows is going to collapse the whole Steemit economy.

He may not know it or have intended it, but he was going to make money on it. Half of post payouts are given in SP, which he would still keep after paying the voters for their votes. Had each of those voters instead posted a productive comment on someone else's post and then used that same voting power to upvote their comment, they would each receive the same SBD, plus the SP that in these schemes goes to the poster, plus rewards of both types from anyone else who liked their comment and upvoted it.

I'll give @aaalxnovaphobia the benefit of the doubt and assume he was just copying the other people who do this without realizing it scams the minnows too, but it does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45