iPad Air Glass / Digitizer Repair

in #repair7 years ago

Yesterday I posted about replacing the screen on my Surface Pro 3. Now that it is fully functional, I can finally get rid of my stop-gap, an iPad Air 2. It has served me well enough, but I really don't like Apple products. Therefore I wiped it before installing a backup of my son's iPad Air 1. Once that was done, it was time to repair his cracked screen and malfunctioning digitizer: the top of the screen didn't register any touches.

20171213_203540.jpg

I heated it up around the edges of the screen to melt the adhesive slightly, then used various tools to remove the glass. I took care not to damage any cables or the camera while sliding the thin tools around the perimeter.

20171213_203609.jpg

With the glass off, there are 4 screws to remove before taking the LCD out. You have to do this as the ribbon cables for the digitizer lie under the display.

20171213_203816.jpg

Once these were removed, I gently lifted the display, tilting it toward the home button. That bottom area is where the display plugs in to the system.

20171213_210214.jpg

In order to disconnect the display, there are 3 little screws. Once removed this metal plate unclips, freeing the unit and giving access to the ribbon cables for the digitizer and home button.

20171213_204116.jpg

I disconnected these cables and replaced the unit, fixing the new ribbons in place before reconnecting and screwing down the LCD.

20171213_212451.jpg

Before I stuck the new glass down I tested the iPad. At first the screen didn't display anything so I rebooted it by holding the power and home buttons for a while, until the Apple logo showed up.

20171213_213725.jpg

Satisfied the screen was working, as well as touch detection, I turned it back off, removed the backing from the double sided tape and positioned the glass in place. I pressed it down firmly around the edges, lay it face down on my desk and set a weight on top to be sure it was stuck fast.

20171213_214830.jpg

All looked fine so I downloaded a kids art app and tested the touch, making sure all portions of the screen followed my finger.

20171213_223333.jpg

Fully operational once more, I then reset the iPad, deleting everything from it. Now that it is fixed, this one will go to my daughter, who's own iPad is just about ready for the scrap heap. It's old enough that Apple no longer update it and it runs very slowly with modern apps.

Sort:  

you make it sound so easy! for me, this is super tech stuff and risky because I'm not technically inclined. If someone else does decide to try this, please be aware that apple has a stipulation that the device will no longer be covered by warranty and usually their repair centers wont touch it afterwards. on older devices this is fine, because usually the warranty has fallen off anyway, however its a good idea to point this out to owners of newer apple products. not trying to be pro apple, just pointing out the realities to anyone not aware.

Yes, you make a good point. This iPad is around 3 years old. If it was still under warranty, I would not have touched it.

Damn does your family have a history of bad luck with screens😂😂

My son regularly drops his. My Surface has waited over 12 months for a new screen as it was so expensive.

I know had to replace my phone screen once broke my wallet...

This is very disappointed that you don't like apple products .Actually you have made this content about your experience.I have read your post totally i am very interested for your next content thanks share @gmuxx

Thank you for giving me so much important news that the news you gave was very important

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65