Dreaming of food (literally)

in #reminisce3 years ago

image.png

Last night, after being a bit snow bound for over a week, spending too much time letting my mind go bleak -- and not for illegitimate reasons -- decided to have a toke. For a time, I was lifted to that other plane of existence, where all of this could be considered just a surreal joke, something to endure, a knowing that this is temporary, that none of this is real, no matter how fucked up it is.

But as usual, that experiential plane of a better reality doesn't last all that long, at least for me, a casual and infrequent toker. But, I felt relaxed enough to consider a snuggle up into my pillows, and a time to just go to bed.

The next hour was excruciating. All I could think of was food. I had visions of some of my favorite eats. I remembered some of the most savory foods I have eaten over years of my life. The first time someone showed me how to properly saute mushrooms and to prepare a perfect steak, make a perfect salad dressing, and a salad that tasted better than I had ever had.

I recalled the first time I had prime rib, ironically on the Island of St. Thomas, VI, at the Black Beard Hotel, when I was 19 years old. It was an amazing experience of culinary perfection.

Then I remembered the seafood stew that I had in Panama when I worked there for six weeks, sea creatures that I didn't even recognize, but the flavors and the comfort of eating was coursing through my memory. I could smell and taste it all.

But the most lingering memory, that kept me awake the longest, was a savory chunk of fresh Maine lobster, dipped in butter. . .

A middle of the night walk down great eatery experiences isn't all so bad, even though it was like being on a raft, in the ocean, dying of thirst, with nothing to drink!

Won't toke tonight. Need to get some sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64536.58
ETH 2626.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83