FireFlies

in #remember7 years ago

Growing up, I camped with my family more times than I can remember. This morning I noticed something for the first time and consider it a privilege to have seen. My friend drove his RV from Oregon to Indiana. Since I am in Chicago, it was a small jump to hook up. We are in a recreation facility by a small lake. There is a huge evergreen just across the road from my window of this Rolling Home.
It's 3:31am.....wonderfully silent and I see a flicker of light at the top of this tree, then another in the middle followed by more in random succession. What a show!!
After watching for a while, it seemed that the guy on top was leading the band.
He would signal and the rest would respond in kind. He would pause, they would do the same... He started up again and they would follow.
You have to agree that things are a white hot mess lately for more petty reasons than valid. But this electric light display sparked a comforting thought: If you can get yourself in a Quiet ..... Silent State without the noise of today and LISTEN, you will KNOW that there is an orderly design to this place we can home. The saying " Can't see the forest for the trees", just popped to mind. Same thing here.
We may think the hectic, chaotic days we live in today are going to continue. However.....if we can stop long enough to notice the order of nature around us, we can find the balance we seem to have forgotten.
Note: My apologize to all those lightning bugs I used chase as a child and place in a jar.
Oh....if only I knew then what I noticed now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46