Dillon xl650 reloading press review

in #reloading6 years ago

First off I am a little partial to Dillion Equipment and I will tell you why. When I was about 10 years old a family friend had his house burn down, it was a total loss. He was and still is a completive shooter who reloads more than I could ever imagine doing. after a year and rebuilding he called Dillion and told them he wanted to repurchase his press and all the other components he had. They asked him what all he had and what happened to it. He explained what had happened, and was told that they needed a few days to get him a quote. Four days later he received a package from Dillion with every thing he had brand new with a note inside. The note stated per our policy there is a life time warranty on our equipment and we stand by that warranty.

F5E8C852-E82A-49DD-9FFA-179EB291AFBC.jpeg

Now for the review. I have loaded many rounds on this press and find it to be pretty user friendly. The press comes with some standard features that other presses don't. The case feed system is there minus the case feed hopper. The press is equipped with a tube that can hold 22 40S&W brass before it needs to be refilled. The press can hold 100 primers and comes with both the large and small tubes and plates for priming. Five stations auto indexing makes for a potential for high volume also. The over all price on this press new is $586 with one caliber conversion and no dies. Caliber conversions can be picked up for $65-85 depending what you need. The case feeder was a little pricy going for $236 but makes the process so much easer. the powder system that comes with this press is consistent and throws the same charge all day.

A few drawbacks or things I wish Dillion would improve on are. They need to come out with there own swagger for the xl650. The unused primer saver does not work well at all, and the spent primer catch also should be improved upon.

over all this press is a beast and can easily load 800-1200 round of pistol a hour. My honest rating on this press is a 4.5/5 due to the few upgrades I would love to see them make.

Sort:  

Many times I considered purchasing a Dillon when I was shooting Cowboy Action Shooting matches. I ended up getting a Lee progressive which worked well for me. But, if I had it to do over again, I would have bought the Dillon for long term usage.

I had a Lee load master for a short time. It got the job done but had some issues. I am not shooting like I used too but going to start up again. I will be reviewing the Hornady lock and load AP soon a few friends have them

And I forgot to add there is one other drawback to the dillion xl650. You won’t be able to keep components on hand. You go through them too fast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87