Why am I here???

in #religious6 years ago

Tim.jpg

They say I should tell you what I hope to add to the Steemit community...

I am not quite sure, to be honest. I came here after traveling down the rabbit hole of cryptocurrency starting about a month ago.

I like many of you was very skeptical of cryptocurrency. Well, I should say skeptical of bitcoin, because I didn't know there were any other crypto currencies. I remember hearing about bitcoin when it was still very new, and I was completely confused as to why someone would buy made up money hoping someone else would pay more for it later.

As my misconceptions were dismantled one by one, I held tightly on to my skepticism. Life is easier that way I think. Actually, it's funny that I am a natural skeptic in many ways because I am also a Pastor. So I have deep faith in something many people are very skeptical of.

I, of course, have gone on a journey with many twists and turns in my faith and have had times of searching to see what I really believe, and yet I tend to be skeptical of almost everything.

I finally saw the 1000th post on facebook about crypto from a friend of mine talking about the huge opportunity in bitcoin. I finally couldn't keep my head under the blanket hiding from the monster any longer and started doing research. The more I read the more it made sense and resonated with many of my values.

Of all the things I am skeptical of, one of the things I am most skeptical of is the government. I particularly don't like the governmental ties to money. I have complained about this for years but didn't realize I had an option around the manipulated markets.

So when I stumbled upon this place I knew I wanted to be a part of it. The thing that is most alluring to me is that it is a community without censorship, where value is rewarded, where I don't have half my screen taken over by "unobtrusive, targeted" ads.

I have no allusions of grandeur and don't expect to make money off of this.

I am just a regular guy who will never put a lot of effort into formatting things in a way to get votes or be strategizing how to make the most off of my posts.

I will just be posting a look into the daily life of a rookie pastor. A pastor who works two other jobs to pay the bills.

I was living in San Diego and working as an electrician before I felt the call to come to northwest Ohio and take pastorate of a small church (average attendance of about 20). For several reasons being an electrician here in Ohio was not something I felt would blend well with being a Pastor.

so I started teaching English as a Second Language to Chinese, grade school children over the internet. The pay was less than half what I made as an electrician but it offered a lot of flexibility. The church does give us a small housing allowance which helps a lot.

My wife and I were not confident the teaching pay would be enough so I also got a job serving tables. We are hoping I will be able to quit that job here in a couple months to give me more free time to focus on the church.

We are starting a new community Bible study in our home to lower the barrier of entry for people who are interested in the Bible but are intimidated by the thought of "going to church". I really want to put the effort into it that this idea deserves and right now I am stretched a little thin.

I can't end this post and not tell you about my highlight of life, and that is my beautiful wife, and two kids. I have a 3-year-old boy and a 1-year-old girl.

Anyways I am supossed to be writing a sermon for tomorrow but I got excited when I noticed the acceptance email from steemit.

Sort:  

welcome to the crypt world especially to this amazing platform !! i hope you enjoy here !! i 'v been in crypto almost 5 mounth still have unexplained thing...

thank you! It is the unexplained that has me still so fascinated by this technology. I keep telling everybody, just wait and see. In 5 to 10 years max and this will be everywhere in your life. It is like the switch from no internet, to the internet age. We have no idea the reach blockchain technology will have in the future.

absolutly Blockchain technology is the biggest innovation after internet innovation when i'm talking to my friends abouot crypto they just keep laughting !! they call me bitcoin that's all they know about crypt !! lol

I just don't understand how I could have been so ignorant until the last couple months. I am a very curious person who reads about a lot of random things. So the fact that I knew virtually nothing about the blockchain or cryptocurrency still blows my mind.

I think a big part of it is the people that are the most afraid of it (big money, big banks, big investment firms) are all so vocally disdainful, that the masses unwittingly accept their statements.

i did researches about blockchains and cryptocurrnecies !! there are alot of things to know !! still researching i want to start some tutorials & share theme on these platform ...
but a lazy person !! but i will do it !! i think peaple are interesting to crypto...

first thing you should do is to creat a post talking about & add him to tag introduceyourself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65834.37
ETH 3292.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70