MARRIAGE

in #religious6 years ago

I was asked to share with you 'Praying through : myth or reality
Ordinarily I would have preferred you ask all your questions, while I share my experiences. I didn't talk of answering them because in all humility, I may not know all the answers.
We are limiting the praying through to marriage
But let me start: is praying through myth or reality? Is it possible to know God's mind concerning who to marry? My answer is a resounding Yes
First it is not an Apo thing. Christians all over know that if God is not Lord of all, He's not Lord at all
We consult Him on everything that matters to us
I think the questions should stop now let me make some clarification
What praying through is not: praying through and falling in love with somebody are not mutually exclusive. There is no law that says for it to be of God, you must not have liked the person before.
I watched my husband review an AVS lesson and I was drawn to him. The more I tried to ignore the feeling, the stronger it felt. It also didn't help to notice that other ladies were also interested in him. In fact two informed me that they prayed through to him
I took my confused feelings to God. On a specific day, I asked for His leading and in a dream, he showed me he was the one. I kept far away from the man and watched God work out things
Now hubby's story: he had someone he liked who ticked many of his boxes: she was a fair trophy wife 😀
Sound gospel family unlike me that was a young convert
All seemed OK, but he still felt the relationship wasn't right
He took his emotions to God and God convinced him that all that glitters wasn't gold and pointed him to me. The more he tried to discuss with me, the stronger the conviction.
He took a step of faith and the rest is history. February makes it 30 years and we both think God did a marvelous job, better than we could ever have done
We're still swooningly in love with each other 😘😘
My points: feelings can come first. But whether you saw first, or it was revealed first, or parents/pastors recommended first. Whether you winked through or saw through or prayed through, just go to a loving Father and confide in Him. Let Him assure you THROUGH WHATEVER MEANS that He's a party to your decision
Some are scared that God will match them with a scarecrow
It is unlikely that your partner will tick all the boxes. Why will he tick them? That your ideal partner is just that: an ideal. Unless of course you want to collect sand and mould him
Did my husband tick all the boxes for me? No. I wanted a six footer (which girl doesn't dream of a six footer with six pack abs?).
I didn't tick all: he was dreaming of a trophy wife but ended up with a very beautiful me😊( he has since changed his mind. He tells me I'm his dream come true
I think I'm done with my love story. Bottom line : praying through is real. The method of leading you to your partner may vary but if you maintain your relationship with God, He will guide you aright
Does praying through guarantee a happily ever after? NO!
But it does give comfort to know I'm where God wants me to be. My husband and I still have to work out the basis of our association.
We're done 30 years and since we still have 50 years more, we're planning a second honeymoon so that he can woo me afresh. I need to fall in love with him
Thank you and God bless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95