God Might Be Artificial, But That Makes Him No Less Real

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

I may not be a true believer,

but I still feel disgusted when folks feel compelled to bash the religion of others. It almost feels as if the athiest is as insecure in his nonbelief as the homophobe is in his heterosexuality.

Back at my last job, one of our part-time employees was telling me, with great relish and anticipation, about a trip he'd planned to Israel. He was going on a two-week hike across the desert to the sea of Gallilee. He's a fit, older guy, and he had to keep in shape for it, and pack a ton of food, and carry gallons of water on his back in a balloon-bladder thing. He was doing it as a way to reflect on his life and retirement (from his real job, not from ours) and he told me that this hike gave him an opportunity to retrace Jesus' footsteps.

This struck me as an amazingly cool proposition. I'd never heard of anyone doing this. I'd also not considered the importance of Israel to Christians, a group we seldom hear discussed in conversations of the conflict there.

Later that day I mentioned his planned hike to another employee in conversation. And this transgendered, tattooed kid - a fellow who demands acceptance from everyone around him - smirked, held up his fingers in air-quotes, and said, "Right. Jesus' footsteps," as if the hike was a laughable enterprise suitable for mockery.

If I'd told him someone was going to New Zealand to retrace the travels of the Fellowship of the Ring, I doubt he'd have laughed as hard.


I'm fond of the language of religion.

There's a poetry there which can bring out the best in people, if it's interpreted by kind and thoughtful minds. And I've come to believe in an Artificial God (AG) who, like most of man's creations, can be used for good or evil, but who for the most part is a valuable contribution to life.

I got the idea of the Artificial God from Douglas Adams, author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide books and Dirk Gently’s Holisitic Detective Agency, among others. The text of his speech from 1998 is still online, and it’s done as much to shape my spiritual life (such as it is) as anything I’ve ever read.

Think about it. How is a God that the vast majority of men believe in any more or less real than a government, or Social Security, or money?

I think the value of any particular religion can be measured by the extent to which it encourages us to be kind to each other. Kurt Vonnegut said, "There’s only one rule that I know of, babies—God damn it, you’ve got to be kind." And he described himself as a "Jesus loving Atheist." I see nothing wrong with this sentiment.

This is why I'm more fond of the New Testament than the Old. To paraphrase comedian Lewis Black, "A God who turns someone into a pillar of salt for looking over their shoulder is not a god I want to be working for." This is also why Israel's actions are so alarming. A kind God would not condone confiscating another nation's land by force and decree. Meanwhile, our own nation's actions in pursuit of oil are just as troubling - especially when they're couched in the language of religious rightness that Bush Jr. used to frame our last two Middle Eastern conflicts.

When our Artificial God gets installed amid the workings of government, he tends to malfunction. But when he's held in individual hearts and minds and churches, he can bring a great deal of peace.

Even though I'm not a believer, I don't feel hypocritical saying "Bless you," or "God bless," to someone who has been kind to me, or who has behaved with more than the usual measure of human decency I'm accustomed to seeing in my days.


Our lives can be long and hard sometimes.

If religion can help a body get through this without becoming bitter and mean, then by all means let that body embrace it. Besides, a church can give someone in trouble an instant social network to help them through their difficulties. Who does the non-believer think he is, to sneer and deny them that?

I haven't started going to any churches myself, but my wife and niece have tried out a few over the years. I really can't see any reason why I should object.


FirstBigPurpleSteemit.jpeg

Sort:  

"If there were no God, it would be necessary to invent him," argued Voltaire. In the Old and New Testaments, the prophets were supposed to be a thorn on the side of political power. I think one purpose of religion is to put-up a mirror to the political institution to reveal its hypocrisy and corruption. The religious cavorting with the political, as is in modern Western democracies, results in inevitable ideologic prostitution.

In the kabbalah (Jewish mysticism) it is taught that GOD would not be able to exist without constant devotion and prayer, hence the need for daily prayer.

Your article kind of touches on this idea with the idea of an artificial god... it is through our faith that we bring to life our creations.

I like that idea.

Perhaps it was the inspiration for Neil Gaiman's American Gods.

I just love the idea of showing some respect toward the imaginary God or gods.

Let's remember all of our failed religious Kingdoms and our horrific atheistic Utopias at the same time! That way maybe we begin a new kind of quest, a worldview quest. With all today's exploding knowledge and whole-world-connections, everybody is facing a choice, or rather an educated guess: Who are we? What's happening....

We more than ever need to help each other. We need to forget old and superficial theist/atheist distinction.

Well said! We've had disasters and successes on both sides of the belief divide - so clearly this divide isn't the proper way of looking at the right way to found a society.

Thank you :) Historian, Yuval Harari is proposing the idea of 'fictions' - the intersubjective reality made of Gods, nations, money, human rights and everything else social. For him, human history is a story of more and more sophisticated and powerful fictions which dominate our lives. It does not matter if any God is involved. What matter is a shared belief in higher order justifying the social order.

Your 'artificial but no less real' formula sounds much better for me. Unlike 'fiction' it's not pushing God (or nation or human rights) out of existence. Looks like a very good place for an atheist to meet with a religious believer and talk about some 'new society'.

Btw. isn't better society building one of the Steemians dreams? Can I find here more content like yours?

That's cool. I'll look up Harari.

There's a lot of great philosophical writing going on here on Steemit - most of it more thorough and well-reasoned than anything I've written! I'd recommend @alexander.alexis for starters, and the roundups he and his crew have put together with the #deepthink tag.

Plus there's a chat site called Discord where there's a steemdeepthink channel. I'm not entirely sure how it works but this link should take you to it. https://discord.gg/5ezARfk. (If not @alexander.alexis can help.) The interface is a little complicated but there's good conversation there and links to lots of thoughtful posts.

Plus the Douglas Adams speech I mentioned above is definitely worth a read when you've got some time if you like this idea. He's best known for The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy but he's was a great thinker.

http://www.biota.org/people/douglasadams/

Thank you so much for reading and sharing your valuable comments!

#deepthink looks great and they just announced new Deep Think Challenge series. I will read some Douglas Adams writings too. Thank you for an inspiring post, comments and suggested links!

(shrug)
I always ask "who made god"

So far I've not got a satisfactory answer...the best anyone can say is "out side of space and time"...which makes me think of a computer programmer.

Effectively those who say that are telling me we live in the matrix.

None of those answers worked for me, either. That's why I like thinking, "Well, we did!"

god is made in man's own image?
yeah...I think so too.

great post
i will follow your account to see how are you doing;) please follow me

Great post! I'm not a 'believer' either, but I also feel people should be free to practice/believe whatever they want, so long as it doesn't interfere with anyone else's right to do the same.

Google gave me the translation: Pilgrimage rout. Thats how we call these. We have a lot of churches here. Basically one on every hill. When I was a kid I had to take the "pilgrimage rout" a few times a year. My grandmother was a firm beliver. So instead of going to church which was 200m away, we got up early and marched for 10km. Yes I do know 10km cant compare to the steps your co-worker is going to make....but just a memory that came up when you mentioned Jesus' footsteps.

10km is a long walk to make in a single day!

I used to walk 6km every day to school and home when I was 10. :) And to think getting to the kitchen is a chore now. :)))

Yes but that's because you have a cat on your lap!

I beg for correct spelling of the word atheist, so they don't feel offended :)

Good eye - thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50