DO MIRACLES EXIST?

in #religion6 years ago

THIS IS A TRUE STORY

I cannot remember so many things in my childhood, but I remember a little about when I was about 5 years old. One evening my dad came and said "come and see baby". He took me to their room and in a cot was a crying baby girl. Honestly, I didn't know how a baby suddenly gets into a cot. I lived with with that mystery even years after. It made no sense; yes "mama nurse" kept coming time after time to our home, but I only thought she merely came to threaten us with injection. "Come and take injection" she would say, off I am gone. Baby in cot, no explanation, not till today. My dad was only happily showing me baby. I guess I happily welcomed the alien - wherever she dropped or appeared from. Okay, the baby is my sister, and later, I learnt in biology how babies are made.

2799711_R_Z001A_UC17544668.jpeg
Pic from Internet

Couple of months after, it was a Sunday; whenever my mum carried the baby by the arm, the girl would scream. My mum was worried and while I would explain what was wrong with me, the baby would not explain. A baby that would appear from no where and now would scream rather say what's wrong.

As Christians we would go for evening fellowships on Sunday evenings after a morning service. After the fellowship of the evening, I remember my mum telling one of our pastors, a cool calm man. He prayed for the baby. My mum believed. Well, the baby would still scream when carried by the arm.

At that time too, the founder of one the churches in Nigeria would preach over the radio by 8pm. We had this radio around which we would gather to listen to his 30 mins sermons. We only had a radio since my parents felt the TV (a box of transistors, cathode ray tube and other components, SMH) was the devil's box and the media were the devil's agents. Now, only the latter is true in my opinion. Well, the pastor would pray after his sermons and tell his listeners to expect miracles.
That day, he prayed and particularly prayed for a child who was being afflicted over the radio. He prayed in the name of JESUS. We said amen. My mum carried the baby by her arm immediately after and for the first time that day, the baby did not scream. My mum screamed "praise the Lord" in the living room. Two young men came to the living room wondering what was going on. Me, I was just looking too!

More than 2 decades after, I remember quite vividly. Years later I have analyzed the event. Either it is a great miracle, a manifestation of the the supernatural power of God; a great coincidence; or my mum connived with the baby to trick her little sons into religion - and that would be a really impressive act from a less than one year old baby.

Naturally, my interpretation was that it was a manifestation of the power of a God that exists and that works miracles. I have prayed many more times later and I have seen answers and miracles, or what skeptical minds would dismiss as coincidences or placebo. Well, since I love the repeated occurrences of such "coincidences" I have always prayed more at situations especially difficult ones.

DO MIRACLES EXIST? DO YOU BELIEVE IN MIRACLES?

Sort:  

Yes @tommynsin,
As long as there is almighty God. The one the bible says ALL belong to. Who live lives in the supernatural and overrules in the affairs of men. MIRACLES EXIST. I am one of the miracles. Shalom

I sure do believe in miracles. Nice post!

DO YOU BELIEVE IN MIRACLES?


As a matter of fact, i strongly do. I believe there is a God and he loves us

Our God is a God of the supernatural, He does things that are beyond our understanding most times.... Miracles do exist

yes for sure. It is like asking if we eat food.

Yeah, miracle still exist and I believe that so strongly

I believe too!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94