Reasons it's impossible to debate Christians: Part 4

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

Click here to read part 1

Click here to read part 2

Click here to read part 3

17. When all else fails they just shout.

If you read enough arguments between Christians and non-believers on the internet you'll see Christians who, unable to make a logical argument, will just type something like, "JESUS IS LORD!" as if it were fact.

Shouting that your conclusion is right and walking away doesn't prove you're right. It's not even good witnessing. What it does do is make you look like a lunatic and underscore the fact that you have no real argument to make.

18.... or they'll accuse you of being judgmental.

Christian mythology drives people insane, makes them immoral and ruins society. Those are strong words, but they're true. Christian mythology is crippling humanity. I don't say this to be mean.

I say it because I value humanity, and I want every single human to fulfill their potential, but humanity can't fulfill its potential as long as it's being crippled by Christian mythology. I don't say these things because I'm a smug, condescending, judgmental jerk who enjoys tearing down other people just to see them hurt. I hate the insanity that Christian mythology plagues humanity with, but I don't hate the Christian who has been brainwashed and driven insane by it.

Criticizing the obvious flaws in Christian mythology is like pointing out the broccoli in a friend's teeth. It's constructive criticism. To say it's doing Christians a favor is an understatement. I'm trying to save Christians from wasting their lives and bringing the rest of humanity down with them.

But since Christian mythology exploits brainwashing techniques that shut down your ability to reason, when I try to tell my fellow human beings the truth and set them free, they respond that I'm just being judgmental, and I think I'm better than everyone else, and I should just let people have the right to believe what they want to believe. And they'll say this completely ignoring the fact that the premise of their belief system says that I'm such a terrible person that I deserve to burn for eternity, and every Christian is obligated to cram their beliefs down my throat for the rest of my life.

19. Even when Christians admit defeat they still refuse to admit that they're wrong.

You can overwhelm a Christian with evidence and arguments supporting the conclusion that Christianity is mythology, and even after they've been completely proven wrong they'll still say something like, "I don't care if I'm wrong. I don't care if nothing I'm saying makes sense and it contradicts a million facts. I feel safe as a Christian. My beliefs help me get through life, and as long as that doesn't hurt anybody then you should let me go on living my life even if it's not true."

It's disheartening to show someone the light and have them look straight at it and say, "Nah, I'd rather continue living a white lie." As Jesus put it, it's like throwing pearls to swine. Jesus himself said not to bother wasting your time trying to enlighten those who have chosen to embrace ignorance. Granted, I still argue with Christians sometimes in the hopes that even though I'm almost guaranteed to lose the argument, I may still be able to plant a seed of doubt that will blossom later.

20. Sometimes their arguments just don't make sense.

Rarely, but sometimes, you'll argue with a Christian and they'll say something like, "God is one, and we know the one because all are one. Those who are not of that which is will be without when the lamb of Judea shows his face within, and there will be no argument then"

I'll argue with more rational, eloquent Christians, but someone who speaks in fanatical prose can't be reasoned with, and experience has taught me not to try.

21. The smarter the Christian, the better they are at reverse engineering excuses to justify their preconceived conclusion.

There are many extremely intelligent people who believe in Christianity and can give you extremely well thought-out explanations for all the hard questions the Bible raises, but no matter how convincing those explanations sound, they're reverse-engineered to support a preconceived conclusion.

It would take a Christian thousands, if not millions of words to answer the Bible's hard questions, but a skeptic can explain every single one of those questions in just four words, "The Bible is mythology."

You can find evidence of it on every page of the Bible, and it answers all of the Bible's hard questions completely, succinctly, elegant, and in a way the conforms to humanity's collective scientific understanding of the observable universe.

Christians have to spend thousands of words on their explanations because they have to reverse engineer their way around evidence that conflicts with their preconceived conclusion. The smarter the Christian, the better mental gymnastics they can do.

Media sources: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Excellent post - your cartoon was particularly well chosen - Brilliant!

upvoted resteemed and followed!

images.png

I am Groot! :D

Judaism is a mythology....Islam is a mythology......Hinduism is a mythology......
Buddhism is a mythology........

How about where most christians haven't even read the bible in the first place and you are arguing with whatever spiritualism they just made up to feel good about themselves and slapped Jesus on the end of it.

I talked about that in Part 3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73