Self-Conquest - December 15

in #religion6 years ago

Self-Conquest

The conquest of self is the grandest triumph that man can achieve.

Once a day, at least, recall very earnestly that
“You are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you.”
I Cor. iii. 15


Ꚛ Fifteenth Day of December

And Lead Us Not Into Temptation

Protect us against the wiles and machinations of the evil spirit; let me not yield to any temptation on the part of the enemies of my soul, remove from me the occasions of sin and come to my assistance, that I may not expose myself to them.

I humbly beseech Thee, O my God, through the infinite merits of the precious blood of Jesus Christ, to grant me strength and courage to destroy every evil passion which sways my heart, to bless Thee in my greatest afflictions, to glorify Thee by the exact fulfilment of all my duties, supremely to hate all sin, and thus to become a saint.




Ask yourself: how does this matter affect me personally, what lesson does it convey to me, what suggestion for a better life, how can I improve my conduct; resolve to become a saint at any cost; think upon the eternal years; pray to the Holy Ghost that He may lead you in the way of perfection; finally recite attentively and devotedly the following Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit:

Oh Holy Spirit, divine Spirit of light and love, I consecrate to Thee my understanding, heart, and will, my whole being for time and for eternity. May my understanding be always submissive to Thy heavenly inspirations, and to the teaching of the Church, of which Thou art the infallible guide; may my heart be ever inflamed with love of God and of my neighbor; may my will be ever conformed to the divine will, and may my whole life be a faithful imitation of the life and virtue of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, to Whom with the Father and Thee be honor and glory forever. Amen.
Self-Conquest. Rev. F. X. Lasance. 1936. @selfconquest
Sort:  

This post is interesting. you have my upvote this post .... keep it up my friend looking forward to your next post

Check out my post
https://steemit.com/religion/@mannyfig1956/daily-scripture-1-corinthians-6

thanks for sharing !!! @selfconquest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 69893.44
ETH 3512.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89