The supreme power

in #religion6 years ago

Most of us in India are theist. We believe in the power of God whom we have never seen, but believe that religiously praying to an idol would result in getting things done in our favour. We have many options to choose from namely, Vishnu, Krishna, Shiva, Laxmi, Durga, very living Lord Ganesh and another dozen of it. Every single God mentioned have 100 more names. Hindu mythology is very confusing and my 9 year old son finds it very confusing to select a god to worship.
IMG_20190314_015355.jpg
He believes that every God is special in his/her own way and there is no way we can select one as it would be injustice to others. Well, I 100% agree with him and that's the reason I don't name the god I worship. I believe God is one supreme power and there is no name to it. My prayers are always to 'God' and not to 'Krishna' or 'Ganesh'.
IMG_20190314_015424.jpg
My cousin recently posted some pics on her status about the ritual where she was worshipping the Serpent Lord. Yes, we do have a special god from the serpent family. The ritual looked elaborate, so I couldn't resist but enquire her about the cost that went into it. She said she spent a little over half a lakh and that was when she didn't spend extravagantly. I asked why it was so costly, so she explained to me how the serpent Lord has spelled a curse on her husband which could be annulled only by impressing him with this elaborate ritual. Well, I nodded my head in affirmation but in my mind I was wondering why is her husband so popular among the serpents?? I mean, the serpent Lord doesn't hold any grudges on us 😂.
IMG_20190314_015451.jpg
On a serious note, I am not a scholar to understand the backdrop of the ritual, but I seriously believe that it is a tactic with which the priests who are believed to be Noble people are making some good quick bucks.

Sort:  

🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko Android

🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46