You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whom to ask for goodies if you aren't religious?

in #religion7 years ago

I'm happy to find more atheists here on the steem blockchain :)

I would say it's OK to believe scientific findings as long as you base your belief on reason and evidence. What's problematic is having faith in the sense of believing without having sufficient evidence.

The thing I wonders is, do you have reasons to believe in karma really and why would you believe it if there isn't evidence to demonstrate that this is the case.

I personally think it's a good idea to withhold belief until belief becomes warranted through evidence.

We do not choose where to be born, just as we have done ZERO input into our heritage(because we INHERIT it, duuuh), so the very concept of patriotic pride and happiness based on a fact of being born whomever is bizarre.

I couldn't agree with you more! :)

I guess, looking for some kind of higher power is an instinct of ours, just like it is for some animals to seek shelter or playing dead.

I don't know if it's an instinct, or something that has been culturally ingrained in our heads, but I would say it's understandable. Still, I personally am always striving to stay away from such thoughts or feelings.

Sort:  

Hey there! Thanks a lot for dropping by!

I'm happy to find more atheists here on the steem blockchain :)

Lol, isn't it just weird that at THIS level of global technological advance people still believe in god?

The thing I wonders is, do you have reasons to believe in karma really and why would you believe it if there isn't evidence to demonstrate that this is the case.
I personally think it's a good idea to withhold belief until belief becomes warranted through evidence.

That's exactly the thing! There is no way to disprove the existence of it, but sometimes things just tend to happen as if it did. I have seen a plenty of times the "what goes around comes around" thing happen, but then again, it all could be a mere coincidence. Now that I think about it, one can give that exact same impossibility to disprove argument when talking about the existence of god. I guess, a more proper way to put my "belief in karma" is to say that I treat people and the environment the way I'd want them to treat me; and so I am hoping for a "mirror-like" response. I guess either way it is about mutual respect. Whatever attitude you give is pretty much what you'll get in response, right? Just logic, no need for karma indeed..

I don't know if it's an instinct, or something that has been culturally ingrained in our heads, but I would say it's understandable. Still, I personally am always striving to stay away from such thoughts or feelings.

I agree; as I said, I tend to find myself thinking "well, it's too bad there's no higher power that would help me out at this point", so ultimately the only thing left to do in such case is to calm down, see what happens next and act accordingly.

Oh, I do support the golden rule and treating others with respect, I just see the belief in karma as equally unreasonable to the belief in a deity as you pointed out yourself. And if you decide to see if you can test if karma actually exists, you'll find plenty of counter-examples like children dying at a young age while many murders remain unsolved meaning that there are many murderers out there that have escaped punishment. Indeed there are plenty of horrific dictators that end their lives in luxury facing no retribution while their people suffer.

And if you decide to see if you can test if karma actually exists, you'll find plenty of counter-examples like children dying at a young age while many murders remain unsolved meaning that there are many murderers out there that have escaped punishment.

You're right indeed. I guess, my belief in karma is more of a wishful thinking after all!

It's stunningly refreshing to meet people that are ready to update their world views as soon as they find a convincing argument or a new piece of evidence. I personally see this as more praiseworthy than being right in the first place!

Look, it is either that, or confirming yourself to be an ignorant fuck. That is simply not who I am, lol.
Again, thanks for dropping by, I am looking forward for more of those discussions in future, buddy :)

Same here on all accounts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62704.97
ETH 2442.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66