The wedding that made me not want to see the newlyweds ever again

in #religion8 years ago (edited)

Two friends of mine got married over the weekend. I was certainly very happy to see them tie the knot, especially in the times we’re living, when marriage in a way or another, has sort of lost its magic, and people don’t consider walking down that road any longer. Not that I am not happy to see such transformation in our mentalities, but I am still willing to cope with some degree of traditionalism – in particular when I know people I love and care for want it.  

 

My disliking of the institution of marriage aside, I also have a very bad relation with religion in general. It is a choice of course, and I take full responsibility for my decision to become an atheist. But I couldn’t escape the temptation of giving some part of the “blame” to the influencing tradition during my early years. See, my country was proclaimed the first officially atheist country in the world in 1963 by our former dictator, and he took great pleasure in destroying pretty much everything related to religion ever since. His efforts were not welcomed at first, but the fact remains that we were raised as the third generation in a country that actually persecuted religious practice. With the collapse of the communist regime, religion was re-introduced in the country, but almost 40 years of atheism as a national policy, had already done the damage – most of the efforts to restore religion were faced with popular scepticism.  

The general belief abroad is that Albania is a Muslim-dominated country (70% of the population), with a smaller Orthodox community being the second biggest, and a relatively tiny community of only 5-10% (depending on which report findings you read) Roman Catholics. Here and here you can read more about it. The explanation behind this is simple; we don’t really have any significant numbers of practicing believers – the figures are such for the simple reason that Albanians think religion is hereditary – much like diabetes. They were born in families which once, over 40 years ago, used to be Muslim, or Orthodox, or Catholic, and this is what they say when asked about their religion. The fact is that they are not real (i.e. practicing) Muslims, Orthodox, or Catholics. Hence, the entire myth of harmony between religions in Albania – we don’t have any religious conflicts because we are not religious as a people – simple as that.  

Image source from Wikipedia. 

Long story short, my newlywed friends were recently converted to Roman Catholicism. This is fine with me, since I am very neutral when it comes to religion. And I have attended weddings in church before, and was always curious and excited about the whole experience. But this one was a little bit not ordinary. First, it went on forever. The ceremony lasted two and a half hours, and we were all bored to the point most of us got actually dizzy and sick. I don’t know – probably my friends wanted to show us how hardcore Catholics they had become, or maybe they wanted to attract us into the same practice. They had given us booklets in which the entire ceremony was printed, and we were supposed to sing, pray, and read from the booklet alongside the priest and the nuns. Needless to bring up again the fact that almost all of us are non-believers, and the entire experience, after the first thirty minutes of excitement, turned out to be exhausting.  

Then, the celebration later in the evening. They had rented a nice place in the city centre, and another wedding was taking place at the same time. Turned out the others were Muslim practitioners, since the women were wearing hijabs. At some point during the evening, a number of us were outside to smoke, together with the bride – same as a number of people from the other wedding. So, one of the women wearing the hijab says to our friend: “Oh look at you! You are a beautiful bride!” And my friend, in response, shows her the cross she’s wearing around her neck, and turns her back at her.  

I was appalled. Shocked. Disgusted. Terrified.  

Especially after spending the entire day listening to songs and prayers about loving and accepting each other. I wanted to walk up to the woman with the hijab and apologize for my friend, but I didn’t. I admit that my knowledge on Catholicism, or any other religion whatsoever for that matter, could be a bit shallow and not updated since when I satisfied my curiosity on the matter years ago – but the one thing all religions propagate is tolerance and acceptance. And all religious conflicts so far have one thing in common: the absence of such tolerance and acceptance. The entire “my god is better/truer than your god” philosophy. This is extremism; the exact contrary of what religion should be all about, and I am not fine with it. 

 

I lost two friends this weekend. They have each-other and another group of other extremists around I believe, so they won’t need me in their lives either. But this is not what I wanted, and it does not make me happy. I have known both of them for years, and it hurts to see I've lost two good friends for good. On the other hand, I am not naïve and I know people don’t necessarily love others, and that’s ok. But I cannot come to terms with hypocrisy and I kinda get lost in inconsistencies. Anyway, one thing I know for certain: I will not look at pictures of the wedding and feel nostalgic in the future. 


Sort:  

I'm really sorry to hear that. That really sucks. Let's hope they can find peace since finding god didn't seem to do the trick.

I 'recycled' a friend some time ago because similar things happening. so i really know the feeling. I think as the world becomes more polarized more people will have similar experiences unfortunately.

I am also sorry to hear about your similar experience. It sucks. Seeing a many-years friendship collapse like this, is never good.
Maybe I am just angry now, and in the future I will re-consider my decision. Then again, I think I am not willing to change it if I don't see a change from the other side.

"And my friend, in response, shows her the cross she’s wearing around her neck, and turns her back at her. "

Wow what the fuck did she think she was a vampire?

Exactly! I didn't recognise the thing my friend had transformed herself into. This was not the easygoing, fun-to-be-with, nice friend I had known for years.

Wow... and there you go... I upvoted and followed you

Two friends short, a friendship lost, and an empty space left behind. Not a very nice place to be.

I have lived in 13 US states during my life and multiple locations in 2 of them. I have made and lost many a friend and want to tell you that you will find more. And with this experience behind you they will be better... it heavies the heart,but at the same time it leaves room for more.

I have lost many friends over the years as well, for all kinds of reasons; either legit or stupid. But I never got used to it - every time it happens, the shock feels like the first time. But like you said, it leaves room for fresher friendships :)

More to the first, less personal, part of the post about religion in Albania. I read that the 1755 earthquake in Portugal pushed so many people away from religion that over 250 years later, Portugal is still the least Catholic country in the Mediterranean.

https://lifeafter40.net/2014/12/25/the-1755-lisbon-earthquake-the-start-of-atheism/
"Religious authorities did proclaim that the earthquake was the wrath of God against the sins of the people. It was a common reaction of the time to look to the heavens when disaster struck. Many philosophers rejected those notions, in part, because Lisbon’s red-light district suffered only minor damage while nearly all of the churches were destroyed in this very devout Christian city."

There was also a recent book on the quake.
http://www.npr.org/2015/11/02/454051690/this-gulf-of-fire-examines-the-lisbon-portugal-earthquake-in-1755

My point being that a 40-year break in religion could have long-lasting effects.

Wow, that is interesting. I didn't know Portugal had lower numbers of religious practisers compared to the rest of the Mediterranean. The reason behind it even more interesting, and then the part where the churches actually suffered the most damages from the earthquake is (I truly mean no offense to anyone) hilarious.
Anyways, the long rambling about the history of religion in my country served as an introduction to why such marriage was indeed painful to endure. Could have been shorter, but then I am afraid the rest of the story wouldn't make much sense.

I thought it was interesting.

My favorite horrible wedding story was when a minister said that the bride and groom were Oreos, and God was the filling that held them together. My roommate had just been going on about how the filling was composed of whipped steak fat and powdered sugar, and I started snorting with uncontrollable laughter at the combination of those two images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84