1 Peter 1:16 “Be Holy, because I am Holy.”

in #religion7 years ago (edited)


The Holiness of God


One of the essential elements of holiness is to be "set apart." 

Holiness is being set apart from anything impure in order to be completely given over to what God says is pure.


1 Peter 1:16 

For it is written: “Be Holy, because I am Holy.”    


Holiness is at the essence of who God is, and God says: "Be like me."



Ephesians 5:1

"Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children."


Obedience should be motivated by our love for Jesus.

Jesus is our perfect example


Matthew 5:48

"Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect."


Be imitators of God


We are called to be like Christ, he is the example for our holiness. 

A christian is set apart and made holy by God.  

My sin is put on Christ; His holiness clothes me, set apart and forgiven.  

Thank you Jesus! ~ Amen



If you have come from my website, http://www.pilgrimtraveler.com 

Twitter, https://twitter.com/KarenGentry99  

Facebook, http://facebook.com/karenspassport 

Or any of my other social media channels, please consider getting your free account here on Steemit.


"Join the adventure and be inspired." - Karen Gentry @pilgrimtraveler 

Blessings from PilgrimTraveler!

© 2017 PilgrimTraveler. All Rights Reserved.


Sort:  

the Bible is the word of God never mind seeing those who wrote it. In the beginning was the Word,and the Word was with God,and the Word was God. John 1:1

Amen, I agree! :))

Are you telling people to "conform and obey"?

Are you sure such a thing is wise to do?

I don't think I would trust a god, unless it spoke to me directly.

I don't think that I trust you enough, nor do I trust this "peter" guy, nor do I trust the guy "peter" is talking about.

I've never met those people. They lived thousands of years ago, in primitive times, in a primitive society.

They sound like they're making up a cult of obedience and conformity, and without actually meeting these people in person, in a realistic, sane manner, I'm not sure it's so wise to believe it.

All it'd take is for me to see it. Don't just explain it to me.
Show me.

If you can't show me, why not?

And if your answer isn't to show me, do you think I'll actually believe you?
Would you believe you?

God is Love, he loves you and sent his son to die in your place. He wants you to love him also....... John 3:16
"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life." The answers to your questions are in his word, the bible.

Who wrote the Bible?

Who was the one who picked up the pen, and wrote it?
Can I trust that person, or people?

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Amen, thank you Jesus!

Amen! When I saw your name I thought of the book "Pilgrims Progress". Have you read it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10