Understanding the limitations of our humanity

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

I read something quite profound yesterday, so I wrote about it this morning on Steemit but then deleted it as soon as I was finished, as I immidiatly realized that I was writing about something that can make many people feel uncomfortable. Then I thought, what the hell, let me give this another go.

a8282621d4fe30717de5fab28975b7a3.jpg

Whenever I write about personal things I always say, you might agree with what I'm saying or you might disagree, either is perfectly fine. My values and opinions might be different than yours and that's okay.

So a few weeks ago I was going through plenty of stress, on top of this, I was feeling super annoyed with everyone for no reason. So I turned to my best friend and my Gwapi, although they said all the right things and did all the right things, I still felt super stressed and annoyed. I bought myself a book, The Inner Voice of Love, which really changed the way I see things.

ec6e64506f6c7e1a2b93758696dc3b65.jpg

Now, this is where I might make you feel uncomfortable. I will be making religious references but I am not forcing these onto you in any way.

Now, in this chapter, the writer explains the following:

Understand the limitations of our humanity. We are only humans. We are not perfect. We are not able to mend one another's hearts. We are not able to fulfill one another, our humanity limits us to do so. We can only find fulfillment through prayer.

When I read this I almost fell off of my chair. It made so much sense to me and came into my life at such a perfect time. I was looking for other people to mend my heart and take my stress away but you can't expect others to do that for you. Don't get me wrong, when I'm feeling blue all I want is cuddles from Gwapi, and it helps, but the issues that lay in your heart are issues that others aren't able to fix.

9e3c79e9effe405c0337fed38bfd9cc3.jpg

When you pray, however, you achieve a sense of peace and tranquility. You achieve a sense of comfort and a sense of fulfillment. This peace is something which humanness can't really achieve. Because we are human, we have these human qualities: we get angry and we vent. We speak poorly of others and we allow others to irritate us. Then because we feel irritated, we want each other to help us not get so irritated. It just isn't very productive.

I decided that whenever I would be feeling stressed again, I would pray. I decided that whenever I felt angry, I would pray. It's only been one day, but my heart already feels better, because I am doing the only thing that can truly fulfill my heart.

ed7d62656ab8edc725bf626cf9c2ad5d.jpg

I feel happy and alive and back to my normal self.

Thank you, Henri Nouwen for writing such an incredible book, I hope to learn more from your readings.

5d4c2e365897bd7166ecdeebc168ff73.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55