You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Melchizedek

in #religion7 years ago

Great question @gduran. Melchizedek puzzles me as well. I need to get up early so I will be brief, as I need to get to bed. This is what I have learned so far concerning the Jesus comparison. Melchizedek is a fore-shadowing of Jesus.
4 The Lord makes this promise on oath and will not revoke it:“You are an eternal priest after the pattern of Melchizedek.”
Consider this: During the old testament, only Levites were allowed to be priests. Levites were ancestors of Aaron. So Jesus was a priest in the order (pattern) of Melchizedek, because he wasn't a Levite (Aaron's lineage). Just as Melchizedek wasn't a Levite, but was still considered a priest. Does this help at all? Gotta go for now, I'll check back tomorrow.

Sort:  

Ok, but who was he, I mean he was eternal and had no father or mother, is he an equal to God (there should be no equal to God)? It's really intriguing, someone or something like Melchizedek should not exist, it doesn't fit in with any concept I have ever heard of. And all explanations I have heard are just the use of words to distance themselves from the actual question, looks like nobody wants to face it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56651.60
ETH 2364.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27