Theory of everything

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers,

Whether you are religious, atheist or agnostic or something in between, there are only a few options that we can choose from to decide what we take for granted or do more study in.

I grew up in quite a religious family and was forced to go to church until the age of 15. Between the age of 8-15 even though I hated going to church I couldn't understand why someone would choose to live without a God.
For some reason it felt like without a God there was no purpose.
The older I got and the more I see of this World it seems clear to me that what one believes is mainly decided upon the environment and location one grows up in.
In the end if you grow up in a fully controlled environment where people worship a fully made up figure, this is what u start off with. You might adjust your views but this will generally also be based on whether u even have the time available to adjust, most people have more urgent needs then to worry about a faith that seems to make sense: primary needs.

I recently had a discussion with a colleague who strongly believed there could be no God and it was interesting to hear his point of view.
Basically as far as I understood him it all comes down to if there was a God of the people who created him versus there once was a big bang but what created this bang. All we do, whether it is showing emotion or love is down to what we have learned over the years. Behaviour that makes us feel better and basically we do it because it gives us reward. (a chemical reaction in the brain that makes u feel better) The other theory states there was always something and thus the universe always existed.

He was also clearly of the opinion that if indeed a God of the people exists it can only be a terrible God as the majority of people on earth lead a life of unimaginable suffering.

I to this day still feel there must be a purpose to why we are here and the reason why I write this is that I am sure there a many fellow steemers who must be wondering what purpose we have in life.
I believe there is a higher goal and find it hard to believe that our consciousness is just created out of the laws of nature.
There must be a higher meaning to it.

Unless there is absolute proof of one religioin being the absolute correct one, I will choose to believe in anything that makes this world a better place.

In the little research I have done sofar a more interesting theory I came across was that of Tom Campbell. I got to see some of his youtube video's where he explains his theory of the world. It explains pretty much everything based on the fact that this world is a virtual reality in which Love and good intent are one of the most important ingredients. It basically covers all religions by this one theory and explains how the double slit experiment works.

If you haven't seen the double slit video yet, I advise you to youtube it as it shows that on quantum level the world is full of magic. And you will then understand Tom Campbell better.
In the end if we love our surroundings if we always show good intent, there could only be one outcome. A world of better understanding and less pain.

Just a quick story as to how I view our purpose on this earth right now. I am always interested in opinions and open discussion, as long as we keep it friendly.

http://www.my-big-toe.comimage.jpeg

Sort:  

So why don't you believe the record of God in the Bible?

Hi, well I believe anything until proven wrong. Rather then choosing to believe in one type of God I have not enough evidence for myself to disprove other religions that millions of people believe in. I know there are a lot of similarities in certain religions but just blindly believing one truth I struggle with that idea. There are so many varieties to what we can believe and can practise how can I make a informative choice out of all that is available. I feel a safer bet is to choose the best things out of all religions adapted to our current technology age and not try and think one religion should have a monopoly on things as you discredit millions of other people with a different religion for believing the wrong thing.
Also I am not trying to convey people to believe the same thing I just like the discussion as it is interesting to view other peoples viewpoints. I also understand why people believe in a certain religion and in many ways I wish I could do it as well, but I get stuck with the fact that there doesn't seem to be enough evidence to conclude one particular religion. I guess that is why it's called a believe.

I wonder where do we have this sense of good and bad, suffering and happiness? Why does selfishness exist? Aren´t we humans that seem to have a problem that makes this world as it is? Are you or anybody including me capable of saying that we do all things well so the problem must be somewhere esle? Have you ever lied? Searched for your own interest before somebody else´s? Believing what I believe, can anyone say they are perfect? No? Then we must share the guilt for the suffering in the world. I still wonder why we think at things as good and bad, where did we get that standard from?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44