You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts about Stephen Hawking

in #religion6 years ago

Thank you for your comment. I can appreciate your concerns with this article if you do not share the same faith as I have. Your first point about how he came out in 2014 for the first time is not accurate. As a child he went to St. Albans school, were he argued with classmates about Christianity, which I have plenty to argue against there as well. As a young student at Oxford and Cambridge, he was a well-known atheist. It was not something that was a shock when he said it in an interview in 2014. As far as the extra 50 years, that is based on the fact he had a disease that kills almost everybody with it within 5 years. Scientist/doctors truly have no idea, even with a ventilator, how he was able to live so long. As far as the bedside confessions, yes, I am making that up, which is why I stated it as "I am sure, one day", not "It has been said this week". It is simply a guess as to what people will make claims about. I have heard so many of these fake claims over the years. I wasn't making the claim he did so. As far as a religion of love and acceptance...it is love to speak truth. You may not like the truth, nor believe the truth of scripture, and it is your right. I would not harm you or put you down, and I don't believe I put Mr. Hawking down. I was simply stating a fact of his atheistic beliefs. I find them sad that so many newspapers seemed to focus so much of their writings after his death on the fact he claimed there is no god. And as far as the Bible being a religion of acceptance, you will not find that anywhere in scripture. There is acceptance by the Almighty, but not of those who are unrepentant.

Again, not sure what I said that was so bad. I was stating an opinion. There are very few, if any, top rated scientist today in the world of academia, that are widely accepted, which are creationist and believe in God. Einstein and Newton, along with many of the earlier scientist were men who believed in God, made major contributions to science, but if it were today, I do not believe someone like Newton would be widely accepted in todays anti-god academia. This was simply my point. I did not say anything disparaging of Mr. Hawking, in fact I said he was brilliant, entertaining, and from what I have seen had a great sense of humor. I believe I would have gotten along fine with him.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71