Why do I follow the law ?

in #religion6 years ago (edited)

Torah: Teachings, Law, Instructions

The Torah is the first 5 books of the Bible: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers & Deuteronomy.

I learned the Torah is the instructions to God's people.

All my life I heard the Law of God was done away with. Several times in my life, I asked myself, "Why would God change his mind?” That part didn't make sense to me. In the New Testiment, I read where Yeshua (Jesus) said the Torah would not change. Still, I just followed what was taught in Church. I also had other questions.

Then one day, God gave me the answers. I fell into some teachings that started answering those questions. God never did away with his word. God says his Torah would never depart or change. Yeshua said the Torah would never change (and this is important to know). So this was the plum line I started using for studing, learning and listening.

I started learning the following:

1. Yeshua never ever did away with God's instructions (Torah)

Yeshua (Jesus) never said anything about doing away with Yehovah's Torah. But on the contrary, Yeshua teaches that not one jot or tittle of the Torah will pass away, until all things are fulfilled (Luk 16: 17, Mat 7: 21 - 23, Joh 7: 19). Then he goes on to tell His disciples to go out and teach what He taught. Well, if Yeshua said this, then who is Paul to change it all? He never did. But I will get into that some other time.

2. There is only one Prophet that believers must hear and obey (Sh'ma), and Paul isn't it

Yehovah (God) told Moses to tell the people he would raise up a prophet, whom would hear from heaven as Moses does. We must Sh'ma (hear and obey) the Prophet or be held accountable for our disobedience to his teachings (Deu 18:15 - 20). Which was reiterated again in Act 3: 22 - 23 and Act 7: 37.

3. The scriptures Paul and the other deciples reference and teach from, has nothing to do with the New Testament, never has and never did. (Hint, New Testiment didn't exist at the time)

I have found about 60 verses that reference the Old Testiment as the Scriptures. Yeshua Himself talks about people being deceived because of not knowing the scriptures (Mat 22: 29, Mar 12: 24).

4. I learned that Christian traditions stem more from paganism than they do from the Bible itself.


My Christian education taught me, that Paul had the authority to change what the Prophet taught (Mormon and Baptist mainly). I was never told this directly, but this was and is still taught today by nearly all versions of Christianity. But what did The Prophet Yeshua, the one we must hear and obey, say? Go back to point 1.

One of the things I have been taught in my Christian walk, was that Jesus lived a perfect life so we don't have too. Hmm... I kind of found out how ludicrous that statement really is. And it contradicts what Yeshua taught. Yeshua came and lived a perfect life as an example of how it's done. He was the example and not the exception.

Some people will say that I am putting myself under the law, or that I want to live by the curse of the law. Not so, it is by grace that I get to live in hope of the blessings of the Torah and not under the curses of the Torah. Yes, the Torah is filled with both blessings for obedience and curses for disobedience. What is the definition of sin? Breaking of the law, what law? The Torah. God's instructions to HIS people. It's the only law that matters.

For anyone to declare the law was done away with, is in direct contradiction with the one we are told we must obey. So when I study, listen or read the scriptures, Yeshua sets down the plum line on how to understand the Bible. Read it from the beginning so you can understand what is said in the end.

A Few Scriptures:

Luk 16:17 But it is easier for heaven and earth to pass away than for one stroke of a letter in the law to drop out.

Mat 7:21-23
21 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

Joh 7:19
Did not Moses give you the law, and yet none of you keepeth the law? Why go ye about to kill me?

Deu 18:15-20 "The LORD your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among your own brothers. You must listen to him. (16) This is what you requested from the LORD your God at Horeb on the day of the assembly when you said, 'Let us not continue to hear the voice of the LORD our God or see this great fire any longer, so that we will not die!' (17) Then the LORD said to me, 'They have spoken well. (18) I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers. I will put My words in his mouth, and he will tell them everything I command him. (19) I will hold accountable whoever does not listen to My words that he speaks in My name. (20) But the prophet who dares to speak a message in My name that I have not commanded him to speak, or who speaks in the name of other gods--that prophet must die.'

Joh 7:19
Did not Moses give you the law, and yet none of you keepeth the law? Why go ye about to kill me?

Act_3:22 - 23 Moses said: The Lord your God will raise up for you a Prophet like me from among your brothers. You must listen to Him in everything He will say to you. 23 Everyone who fails to listen to that prophet will be removed from the people and destroyed.'

Act_7:37 "This is the Moses who said to the Israelites, God will raise up for you a Prophet like me from among your brothers.

Mat_22:29 Jesus answered them, "You are deceived, because you don't know the Scriptures or the power of God.

Mar_12:24 Jesus told them, "Are you not deceived because you don't know the Scriptures or the power of God?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57