You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Seven-Day Universe - Part 2

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

I am enjoying the back and forth between two brilliant minds. I want to hear the full presentation from both of you so keep it coming.

There is one item I am curious about. Since you have a knowledge of the original languages @creatr, what are your thoughts on the use of the Hebrew word yom in Genesis 1 versus Genesis 2:4?

Sort:  

Hi Lydon,

My knowledge of the original languages is far from "expert" level... I still very much rely on "training wheels," i.e. language study tools and experts.

Perhaps a better person to ask that question of might be @inphiknit as I believe his knowledge of Hebrew is quite "in-depth."

However, from the relatively shallow level of my ability to observe, I certainly recognize that yom can be used in more than one way. And as I've said in my article, I am substantively in agreement with @gavvet that we need to allow and account for Hebrew literary devices.

Nevertheless, in the context of Genesis One, because it is associated with a week of days, and because it is associated with "evening and morning," and combined with what presently appears to me to be considerable evidence for a very young earth, I tend to take yom simply as a literal 24 hour day.

In Genesis 2:4, "in the day" could be either... I don't think it is quite as explicit there as in Genesis one...

Appreciate the balanced and thorough answer @creatr. You always look at a subject from all angles and I admire that.

I have followed @inphiknit for future talks.

Thanks, friend!

I have found @inphiknit to be a very gracious and interesting person to correspond with. :)

Good to hear! :)

Or... if the Genesis one days at a literary level are to represent days of the week leading up to the Sabbath then the use of yom is completely appropriate.

Delving into the Bible is always a wonderful endeavor.

Please elaborate

to be considerable evidence for a very young earth

I plan to do so in an upcoming article.

Thanks for the stimulus! ;)

Hi again, friend @gavvet,

This is just a "heads up" to let you know that I have re-steemed the latest article in your series on creation, and have (finally) published mine about evidences for a young earth:

The Seven-Day Universe - Part 3: Physical Evidence for a Young Earth

I must confess that I was surprised at how much more information is now available on this since I last looked into it. While researching the article, I discovered that there are more counter arguments to the young earth data than I was already familiar with. Many of those arguments I simply have not had time to thoroughly and honestly evaluate.

As a result, I focused on one particular set of evidence that (although debated and debatable) I still find quite persuasive.

In any case, Thank You again for stimulating my thinking on the topic! This has been both entertaining and educational, and I'm not done learning yet!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59