Give Thanks

in #religion6 years ago

1 Thessalonians 5:18 KJV
In every thing give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.
giant-hairy-scorpion-1340312_1920.jpg

Yesterday the topic of the sermon in church was on being thankful. The sermon came back to me today in an unexpected way. I am barely typing this post with one hand. Let me explain what happened.

Early this morning while I am coaxing my child to eat breakfast quickly, I go to brush my teeth....multi-tasking as usual on school days. I see what appears to be a small piece of crumpled paper on the carpet. I reach to pick it up and suddenly horrible pain shoots through my finger as if it had been cut off. I quickly realized that it was NOT a small crumpled piece of paper but an ANGRY SCORPION!....I also realized that scorpions do NOT like to be picked up!

After the initial shock wore off. I was tending to my injured finger and I remembered the sermon of yesterday (in EVERY thing give thanks). The next thing that came to my mind was how easily my young child could have been stung instead. So I began silently praying and thanking God that my child did not get stung. At that moment my son instinctively comes over to me as if he knew what I was thinking. He said to me in his funny innocent way, "Mama, I am so glad it was YOU who got stung instead of ME", then he brought me some ice for my finger.

God is good in ALL ways... God is good.

(The picture in this post is not the same scorpion that bit me. The one that bit me was smashed in many pieces and flushed down the toilet. The scorpion in this picture looks like his cousin).

Sort:  

Dear friend, you have always been an angel of your son's guard, God gave you that primacy. I loved your post. An affectionate hug
@luxity

Thank you so much. May you have a blessed day!

Congratulations @luxcity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @luxcity! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @luxcity! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64